Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Advanced Wolfenstein 3D source port based upon Wolf4SDL and ZDoom.
[Home] [Download] [HG builds (Win)] [HG builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo]

Moderator: Blzut3

Space Monkey
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 16:15

Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Post by Space Monkey » Sat Nov 11, 2017 16:39

So I somehow managed to disable the little pop up menu that normally shows when you launch ecwolf.exe that lets you select which game you want to run (wolf3d, spear of destiny etc.) Any way I can get that back up? Thanks in advance.

Blzut3
Developer
Developer
Posts: 408
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 22:21

Re: Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Post by Blzut3 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 20:05

You should be able to bring it back by holding down shift while starting the game.

Otherwise you can change the key ShowIWadPicker in your ecwolf.cfg. (%AppData%\ecwolf\ecwolf.cfg on Windows)

Coincidentally just the other day I was thinking about removing that feature. Not that I've seen many reports of people accidentally triggering it, but while it was copied over from ZDoom I'm honestly not sure why someone would want to disable it that way on ZDoom either.

Space Monkey
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 16:15

Re: Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Post by Space Monkey » Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:13

So holding down shift does nothing, and in my ECWolf.cfg file, I have ShowIWadPicker = 1. Tried changing that to 0 and it changed nothing. Is there a way for me to set what key I want to use to open that menu?

enderandrew
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:07

Re: Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Post by enderandrew » Sun Nov 12, 2017 18:46

Blzut3 wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2017 20:05
You should be able to bring it back by holding down shift while starting the game.

Otherwise you can change the key ShowIWadPicker in your ecwolf.cfg. (%AppData%\ecwolf\ecwolf.cfg on Windows)

Coincidentally just the other day I was thinking about removing that feature. Not that I've seen many reports of people accidentally triggering it, but while it was copied over from ZDoom I'm honestly not sure why someone would want to disable it that way on ZDoom either.
I think temporarily disabling it from the command line to load a specific iwad and mod in a batch file is nice, but turning it off permanently can be problematic.

Blzut3
Developer
Developer
Posts: 408
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 22:21

Re: Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Post by Blzut3 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:48

Space Monkey wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:13
So holding down shift does nothing, and in my ECWolf.cfg file, I have ShowIWadPicker = 1. Tried changing that to 0 and it changed nothing. Is there a way for me to set what key I want to use to open that menu?
If you had ShowIWadPicker set to 1 then it should be showing up. This probably indicates that ECWolf is only discovering one data set.

You can try using the command line option "--data sod" or whatever the one of the other data sets your trying to load may be. If that fails then you know for sure ECWolf is only discovering the one it's automatically selecting.

NinjaGuido

Re: Reenabling Game Selection Menu

Post by NinjaGuido » Fri Nov 24, 2017 21:47

I ended up just reinstalling ecwolf completely and that fixed it - I'm really not sure how I managed to somehow disable it like that.

Post Reply

Return to “ECWolf”