1.3.13 Beta release

News about GZDoom.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
StasBFG[iddqd]
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:12
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by StasBFG[iddqd] »

I have such a problem with 1.3.10:
Image
Texture bugs and invisible things, all by default, brightmaps disabled
Radeon HD 5870, Catalyst 9.11, WinXP x64
1.3.9 worked fine...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by Graf Zahl »

One day I'm flying over to America, grab ATI's driver programmers and killbeat the hell out of them! These idiots are so incompetent it defies belief...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by Graf Zahl »

Where did you get this version anyway? I never made a 1.3.10 release. Did you compile it yourself? If so can you please re-check with the latest SVN?
entryway
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 22:24

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by entryway »

ATI beats your dreams about good architecture without hacks for 1.3 :)

Why people still buy ATI? I did it once and it was enough for me. It is incredible, but the majority of developers from gamedev.ru use ATI!

Graf, probably you need this hack too :)

Code: Select all

  // e6y
  // Some ATI’s drivers have a bug whereby adding the depth renderbuffer
  // and then a texture causes the application to crash.
  // This should be kept in mind when doing any FBO related work and
  // tested for as it is possible it could be fixed in a future driver revision
  // thus rendering the problem non-existent.
  PRBOOM_TRY(EXEPTION_glFramebufferTexture2DEXT)
  {
    GLEXT_glFramebufferTexture2DEXT(GL_FRAMEBUFFER_EXT, GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENT0_EXT,
        GL_TEXTURE_2D, glSceneImageTextureFBOTexID, 0);
    status = GLEXT_glCheckFramebufferStatusEXT(GL_FRAMEBUFFER_EXT);
  }
  PRBOOM_EXCEPT(EXEPTION_glFramebufferTexture2DEXT)
User avatar
StasBFG[iddqd]
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:12
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by StasBFG[iddqd] »

1.3.10 because I noticed version bump in SVN and compiled it.
Tested with r604 now - nothing changed...
Vados
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:47

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by Vados »

Graf Zahl wrote:The BSOD indicates that something is wrong with your computer. With that I can't help you.

What's your graphics card anyway?
No, the fact is that I was not lucky, and I have an old integrated video card, to Score a problem with OpenGL. When you first start GZDoom, which has not yet created a configuration file, init. OpenGL and failed. In the second run, or Software, or BSOD :( . In version 1.3.09 such as switching from OpenGL to Software went well, but when you restart Windows I got BSOD. And another thing - the marks of bullets and blood on the wall are the rainbow colors, instead of as it should. In 1.3.06 everything was normal. Thank you. Excuse me for my terrible English.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by Graf Zahl »

StasBFG[iddqd] wrote:1.3.10 because I noticed version bump in SVN and compiled it.
Tested with r604 now - nothing changed...
I just have to ask: Does 1.3.9 work with your current driver or did you update in between? 9.11 is rather new if I'm not mistaken.

Since I can't reproduce it could you please do one more test:

Open src\gl\scene\gl_flats.cpp and look for gl_SetPlaneTextureRotation (first function in the file) and change it to this:

Code: Select all

bool gl_SetPlaneTextureRotation(const GLSectorPlane * secplane, FMaterial * gltexture)
{
		float uoffs=TO_GL(secplane->xoffs)/gltexture->TextureWidth(GLUSE_TEXTURE);
		float voffs=TO_GL(secplane->yoffs)/gltexture->TextureHeight(GLUSE_TEXTURE);

		float xscale1=TO_GL(secplane->xscale);
		float yscale1=TO_GL(secplane->yscale);

		float angle=-ANGLE_TO_FLOAT(secplane->angle);

		float xscale2=64.f/gltexture->TextureWidth(GLUSE_TEXTURE);
		float yscale2=64.f/gltexture->TextureHeight(GLUSE_TEXTURE);

		gl.MatrixMode(GL_TEXTURE);
		gl.PushMatrix();
		gl.Scalef(xscale1 ,yscale1,1.0f);
		gl.Translatef(uoffs,voffs,0.0f);
		gl.Scalef(xscale2 ,yscale2,1.0f);
		gl.Rotatef(angle,0.0f,0.0f,1.0f);
		return true;
}
The change here was the main change I made for 1.3.10. Does it work properly if this old behavior is restored?
User avatar
StasBFG[iddqd]
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 4:12
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by StasBFG[iddqd] »

Does 1.3.9 work with your current driver or did you update in between? 9.11 is rather new if I'm not mistaken.
I tested your build of 1.3.9 with the current driver (9.11 beta is the only version now that works in winxp with my videocard).
Graf Zahl wrote:The change here was the main change I made for 1.3.10. Does it work properly if this old behavior is restored?
It works, now everything seems to be fine!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by Graf Zahl »

Ok, good to know. That makes no sense unless the driver has a bug. For some reason the texture matrix becomes 0 and this code constantly reupdates it and masks the real problem in the process.
Vados
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:47

Re: 1.3.09 Beta release

Post by Vados »

Author sorry. I took the old configuration file, which is set to software mode, and shoved his GZDoom v1.3.10. All started with no problems and BSOD. Also iridescent traces of bullets and blood on the wall 1.3.09 fixed in 1.3.10. Now everything is normal. Please forgive me, everything works fine.
User avatar
chopkinsca
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 8:09

Re: 1.3.11 Beta release

Post by chopkinsca »

Without the -vbo parameter I think the rendering error is fixed in 1.3.11.
User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: 1.3.11 Beta release

Post by Nash »

1.3.11 link on the Downloads page is 404.

(The "B" in "Bin" is uppercase... should be lowercase)
User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3646
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: 1.3.11 Beta release

Post by Rachael »

I fixed it on the shell - when Graf uploaded GZDoom-Bin-1-3-11.zip, I kept the casing of the file name and did not modify it. When Graf updated the link on the site, he did not modify the casing to reflect the actual filename.

To keep things consistent, I renamed the file itself locally to match all the previous versions. It should be accessible now.
User avatar
BlazingPhoenix
Posts: 488
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:11
Contact:

Re: 1.3.11 Beta release

Post by BlazingPhoenix »

chopkinsca wrote:Without the -vbo parameter I think the rendering error is fixed in 1.3.11.
I can confirm this.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 1.3.11 Beta release

Post by Graf Zahl »

In 1.3.11 I completely disabled the VBO when running on ATI as it clearly showed loss of performance. Since the error was related to this feature it's logically gone.

This is another ATI oddity. Everywhere you can read that VBO is more efficient but apparently not when you mix it with immediate mode.

So right now I've reached the end of the line of what I can do with this code optimization wise. One other thing I tried was trying to reduce the amount of changes to the texture matrix but all this caused was even more problems. And this was a real optimization that gave a significant speed boost to my Geforce. ATI sure is weird.

To go on I'll have to do some much more fundamental changes. But this is something I won't do until after an offiical release.
Locked

Return to “News”