Page 1 of 7

GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 23:18
by Graf Zahl
A new version is available. This one merges the legacy support back into the mainline so there is no corresponding 1.x version anymore.

New features:
  • Fully functioning Line and Sector Portals
  • Roll Sprites
  • Flat Sprites
  • Sprites Facing Camera
  • Bloom
  • Multisampling
  • Stereo 3D VR
  • Quad Stereo
  • Tonemap Setting
  • Lens Distortion Effect
  • DECORATE Anonymous Functions
  • Lots of new ZDoom development features


IMPORTANT NOTICE: In the last few days a few occurences of bad pitch handling have been brought to my attention that were introduced with version 2.2.0.
Please note that these will be fixed, if it can be verified that current behavior deviates from 2.1.1/ZDoom 2.8.1!
Any mod depending on such broken handling will have to be repaired for the upcoming 2.3.0 release!

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 0:01
by Tiger
This is amazing! Thanks to everyone for making GZDoom even better than before! This is great!



Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 0:08
by Rachael
Almost hard to believe a new release is out, now.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:18
by JudgeGroovy
Groovy! Righteous, keep rockin GZDoom team.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:52
by Guest
The latest version of GZDooom (2.2.0) gives me the following when I try to play Brutal Doom with it:

Code: Select all

OS: Windows NT (NT 10.0) Build 10240
   
M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding C:/GZ/gzdoom.pk3, 620 lumps
 adding C:/Absolution/Absolution/Bin/doom2.wad, 2919 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/lights.pk3, 4 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/brutalv20b.pk3, 8370 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/brutalv20b.pk3:e2m8.wad, 11 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/brutalv20b.pk3:e3m8.wad, 11 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/brutalv20b.pk3:terrain.wad, 260 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/BDv20Mutator_RestoreInvisibilityPowerup.pk3, 2 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/HXRTCHUD-BD20_V3.0.PK3, 99 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/D4WeaponsBDtest1.pk3, 355 lumps
 adding C:/GZ/Games/ETERNALL.WAD, 1778 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU speed: 3392 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz
  Family 6, Model 58, Stepping 9
  Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright © Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.44.61
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
Attempting to remap non-existent texture M_DOOM to MDOMHD
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
Attempt to get invalid state See from actor ImpTorso.
Attempt to get invalid state See from actor DeadImp.
Bad hex number: no

Execution could not continue.

Script error, "brutalv20b.pk3:blood.txt" line 610:
Expected ',', got 'l'.


The previous version (2.1..1) had no problems with Brutal Doom, so whatever went wrong is with GZDoom somehow.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:59
by Blue Shadow
It's actually a problem with Brutal Doom, a problem which should have been fixed ages ago.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:02
by Rachael
Brutal Doom's author had plenty of time to fix that.

He didn't.

I think this is one of those few cases where backwards compatibility is not a concern.

Needless to say, it's an easy error to fix. Just open Brutal Doom with your favorite Zip file editor, find the file in question, open it in notepad, and fix that particular line - change the "l" to a "0" and you're good to go.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:35
by Guest
Brutal Doom - If the problem's with Brutal Doom, shouldn't GZDoom 2.1.1 have also given me that error message? (as I said in my previous post, it didn't.)

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:45
by Rachael
That's not how typos work.

GZDoom 2.1.1 not flipping the error was the problem, before.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:52
by Graf Zahl
I reported this error to the BD guy in February, when this was fixed in ZDoom so the bad constant gives an error as it should. He just did nothing at all. Well, I'll let him deal with the fallout. We can't let lazy modders dictate development terms here, especially when it comes to parsing errors that cause problems with properly declared stuff.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:28
by Nash
Even on old versions of GZDoom where Brutal Doom could run and be played, the startup console spewed out like ten billion warnings. I just cringe so hard when mods get released so dirtily and completely ignore the sea of red text in the startup... I personally get nervous even just seeing ONE warning. :O

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:46
by _mental_
It's a fairly common practice to completely ignore warnings even among professional programmers. That's why many projects forcibly enables 'warning-as-error' policy.
Everyone can miss a message at some point however there is no excuse for ignoring them for years.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:54
by Graf Zahl
Tell me about it. A few years ago I worked with someone like that. It was a hopeless fight to get the code base clean, because he just didn't care.
Of course this one never was a warning. It was a dumb typo that just by happenstance passed the old parser, but not the new one.

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:04
by Nightfall
I'm calling it now: he's going to just get everyone to use the previous GZDoom version. Just like how he's been telling people to put Brutal Doom in the skins/ directory in Zandronum where it most definitely should not be in (and people actually do that all the time).

Re: GZDoom 2.2.0 released

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:15
by Graf Zahl
Well, if he starts doing that it may actually backfire once BD starts to become incompatible with some other stuff...

I honestly don't care. If he continues to act this stupidly I may just take down the links to the older builds... :mrgreen: