3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Bugs that have been resolved.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by ibm5155 » Fri Dec 16, 2011 2:21

Well i´ve noted some anomaly in a sector with transfers brightness level, sprites works fine, but the models, they got almost black! (like if i saw it in a place with brightness 26), they works fine with places without transfer brightness.

Fog tested:off,standard, radial, they got the same result.

One strange thing is the weapons in 3D didn´t get the same result, it works fine, here´s a picture with a demon from doom 3 with a demon from doom 1/2, this time i tested in another computer and get the same result.
Image

Sorry I could only test in skulltag because hunters moon don´t work in gzdoom, I´m downloading DS-MODELS for test in gzdoom, but i except the same result.

Like enjay wrote to me...

Hardware
Intel Pentium III 1GHz
896mb SDRAM
Nvidia FX5500 AGP2X
120GB HD
Via Appolo A133 chipset (sucks)
Latest gzdoom (i think from December 14, 2010)

EDIT:Tested in Gzdoom and got a fatal error with or without models =/, only worked in skulltag and zdoom
Tomorrow i can do more tests...
Attachments
CrashReport.zip
Crash Report from my map
(41.64 KiB) Downloaded 90 times

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Nash » Fri Dec 16, 2011 5:56

Upload a test WAD with the models for a quicker response.

User avatar
Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Gez » Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:50

ibm5155 wrote:Latest gzdoom (i think from December 14, 2010)
Try an SVN build instead.
ibm5155 wrote:EDIT:Tested in Gzdoom and got a fatal error with or without models =/, only worked in skulltag and zdoom
Yeah, that's a bit meaningless to me. Skulltag is closed source, ZDoom does not support models at all.
Nash wrote:Upload a test WAD with the models for a quicker response.
Dunno about Graf, but personally I won't even try to investigate without one.

ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by ibm5155 » Fri Dec 16, 2011 19:56

Im going to host the map...
@Gez, gzdoom also crashed without models, and this map is compatible with the future zdoom so...


I´ve tested with hunters moon v1.6 and DS-models (i only have demons/revenants in that part), you could use anything together for replace it by 3D models =D

About my gzdoom
Gzdoom 1.5.6 r1104 (yeah the last one that´s in the download page)
Attachments
map_problem.wad
(121.06 KiB) Downloaded 62 times

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Enjay » Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:13

Yes, I can reproduce in with GZDoom r1280 with the test map and Hunter's Moon loaded.

Image

Image

I'm also pretty sure I know what is causing the problem. The map uses the transfer brightness special to have the room getting progressively darker the higher up you go. The main play area is set to quite a low light level and has its brightness at ground level increased by the transfer brightness special.

However, it is known that models do not use "3D lighting" effects (including the lighting effect from being underneath a 3D floor and the situation in this map) and will use the light level of the main sector regardless of the 3D lighting effect being used at the altitude the model is at. A quick way to test is to force X/Y billboarding on all sprites and then see what happens. In that mode, sprites also can not use 3D lighting effects.

X/Y billboarding off

Image

X/Y billboarding on

Image

So, there you have it. It's not a bug but I wouldn't go as far to call it feature. I suppose it's merely a known about limitation.

I guess the solution for this map is to make the main play sector the brightness that you want the models to be lit by and use the 3D lighting effects to change the light levels at heights where the monsters don't go.

ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by ibm5155 » Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:42

? But the eye candy is normal o_O

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Enjay » Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:43

ibm5155 wrote:? But the eye candy is normal o_O
Correct. It is a bright sprite so it is always shown at full brightness regardless of the sector it is in. Only non-bright sprites (ie ones that use the sector light level) will show this.

ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by ibm5155 » Fri Dec 16, 2011 22:14

Ok, well i repaired the problem like enjay told to do, so it´s not really a bug, only a limitation on the engine >>
Cost me one minute to repair the sector >.<

ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by ibm5155 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 0:14

Sorry doulbe post, the complete map is giving me crash only in gzdoom, i put the log without models

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Enjay » Sat Dec 17, 2011 0:26

Your crash report says:
ZDoom version 1.5.6 (r1104) / ZDoom 2.5.0 (r3010) (Nov 20 2010)

What happens if you run it with one of the SVN builds from here?

http://svn.drdteam.org/gzdoom/

ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by ibm5155 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 18:55

I´ve download the gzdoom-r1280.7z and now it works =D

printz
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 23:09

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by printz » Mon Jan 02, 2012 21:56

Enjay wrote: However, it is known that models do not use "3D lighting" effects (including the lighting effect from being underneath a 3D floor and the situation in this map) and will use the light level of the main sector regardless of the 3D lighting effect being used at the altitude the model is at. A quick way to test is to force X/Y billboarding on all sprites and then see what happens. In that mode, sprites also can not use 3D lighting effects.
That's one of the ugliest limitations I've read about. Why are 3d models AND XY sprites exempted from 3D lighting? This is a 3d engine! It makes the 3d wall-lighting feature seem rather broken if it can't be used to properly light half of the objects in sight and at the corresponding heights.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Graf Zahl » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:57

Because these things can't be trivially split into slices to be lit indepently.

printz
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 23:09

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by printz » Tue Jan 03, 2012 16:02

Can they be lit uniformly, but only by the light level that their origin resides in?

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 3D models get almost black with Transfer brightnes level

Post by Graf Zahl » Tue Jan 03, 2012 17:44

That's how it should be - but some other people have also messed around with that code so it may just be broken.

Locked

Return to “Closed Bugs”