gzdoom doesn't detect player spot on next map

Need help with your project? Ask here.
DefconRazor32
Innovative doomer
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:33

gzdoom doesn't detect player spot on next map

Post by DefconRazor32 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:50

I ran into a small prroblem and i dunno if it's just a bug or not but here's the info. I made my map for shizism and on the end point of the map i put a line with the end(normal) in map01, once i get into gzdoom it says no player when i know i put a player spot in the map02, i tryed replace and that usually helps but in this case it keeps showing the no player start thing when i know i did. I use Gzdoom 1.2.01.

PeskySaurus
Awesome
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:50
Location: ?????

Re: gzdoom doesn't detect player spot on next map

Post by PeskySaurus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:30

i don't .... exactly understand the question.... i mean i understand the question but i don't understand your explanation

do you have them named normally like MAP01 and MAP02? If not you might wanna define in mapinfo. infact, maybe you should define in mapinfo anyways. at the very least, i do. here is what i mean:
Spoiler:
(all that jibber jabber is from my project "Purgatory". ) another possibility.. are you testing it in deathmatch mode by accident? i've had game crashes when testing deathmatch and then we go to a level with no DM starts. but it says no player 1 start ... or something. i forget.
"Maybe one day I can figure it out, till then I just put another cigarette out, pull up a chair, open a brew, sit on the porch, and do what I do..." -Rehab

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4601
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: gzdoom doesn't detect player spot on next map

Post by Enjay » Wed Oct 28, 2009 18:15

This happens when either:

a) you have inadvertently given the player start spot an incorrect argument.

b) you have given the exit line from the previous map an argument that does not tie in with the arguments on the player start spot of the next map.


Under normal circumstances, arguments of 0 should be used. Other arguments are only necessary when making maps with more than one P1 start (eg in hub levels that you can enter from an number of different places).

PeskySaurus
Awesome
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:50
Location: ?????

Re: gzdoom doesn't detect player spot on next map

Post by PeskySaurus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 21:48

why is everyone so much smarter than me?? LOL
"Maybe one day I can figure it out, till then I just put another cigarette out, pull up a chair, open a brew, sit on the porch, and do what I do..." -Rehab

DefconRazor32
Innovative doomer
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:33

Re: gzdoom doesn't detect player spot on next map

Post by DefconRazor32 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 23:24

I looked and Enjay you are very right. I feel annoyed tho that i put the wrong arguments and stuff i'm still new to mapping even tho i mapped for 5 years most my maps went wrong or never finished cause doombuilder also gave me texture errors but those were bugs. I'm using doombuilder 2 now so i'm trying to get used to mapping completely. I am very thankful for your help Enjay, same goes to you PeskySaurus.

Post Reply

Return to “Editing Help”