Lizardcommando's mods journal

In this forum, you can start an ongoing development diary detailing the progress on your latest mods in progress.

Moderator: wildweasel

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:42

I have the classic HUD resized to 320 x 22. It's a bit incomplete though. The text I have in place for it could use some polishing... The Fullscreen ZDoom HUD is going to use the default Doom texts, so there's no need to worry about that.

So yeah, does anyone want to help me with the custom HUDs?
Attachments
stbar.png
I guess the text could use some polishing...
stbar.png (1.58 KiB) Viewed 3842 times

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:35

Umm... yeah. I still haven't done shit with the Robot enemy that's supposed to replace the Baron of Hell...

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:37

Oh yeah, so I just finished drawing the sprites for the casings. Does anyone want to help code it into the mod?

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sat Mar 29, 2008 0:41

Woooow.... Someone was actually bold enough to blatantly steal my mod and make it their own without telling me. The worst thing is that he didn't even bother changing alot of the stuff like the Heavy Machinegun (it remained unchanged).

http://www.arcades3d.com/foro/viewtopic.php?t=8578

It's all in Spanish and I haven't the slightest fucking clue what is being said there. Can anyone translate?

Honestly, I was a bit flattered and kind of annoyed. I didn't think anyone would be bold enough to do this to my mod when the artstyle for that is so unique. The very least this kid could have done was tell me about this mod first before releasing it...
Last edited by lizardcommando on Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:09

I attempted to decipher a Google-translated version of the page - turns out the original poster is 30 years old, and openly admitted to stealing your mod after the rest of the forum called him out on it. The administrator of the forum seems to have taken action against him already, as well as the idiots that posted "OWNED" pictures.

A few posts down, somebody actually posts a link to your ZDoom Forums thread about this mod, so it appears that justice has been adequately served.

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:41

Wait a second... Are telling me that this guy was actually impersonating the kid?! Geez... This guy contacted me saying it was his son that made the mod. Damn, now I'm fucking confused.

Yeah, the graphics are pretty bad, even by my standards. These aren't as bad as ICD-Lizards, but they are still pretty bad...

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sun Mar 30, 2008 21:05

Does anyone have any clue as to why my Fullscreen HUD only works in GZDoom and not in ZDoom?

Code: Select all

statusbar fullscreen
{
drawimage "MEDIA0", 20, 196;
drawnumber 3, HUDFONT_DOOM, red, health, 80, 180;
drawimage armoricon, 20, 167;
drawnumber 3, HUDFONT_DOOM, red, armor, 80, 156;
drawimage ammoicon1, 306, 196;
drawnumber 3, HUDFONT_DOOM, red, ammo1, 295, 180;
drawimage ammoicon2, 306, 167;
drawnumber 3, HUDFONT_DOOM, red, ammo2, 295, 156;
drawmugshot "STF", 5, 155, 166;
gamemode deathmatch, teamgame
{
drawnumber 2, HUDFONT_DOOM, red, frags, 276, 1;
}
gamemode cooperative, singleplayer
{
drawswitchableimage BlueCard, "nullimage", "STKEYS0", 308, 112;
drawswitchableimage YellowCard, "nullimage", "STKEYS1", 308, 122;
drawswitchableimage RedCard, "nullimage", "STKEYS2", 308, 132;
drawswitchableimage BlueSkull, "nullimage", "STKEYS3", 298, 112;
drawswitchableimage YellowSkull, "nullimage", "STKEYS4", 298, 122;
drawswitchableimage RedSkull, "nullimage", "STKEYS5", 298, 132;
}
drawselectedinventory INDEXFON, 306, 148;
}

By the way, does the standard Custom HUD have to be a certain size or can it be any size?

I tried messing around with the SBARINFO for the standard HUD, but it's still looking like ass. Plus it won't show up if I have the borders removed. What can I do to fix all this crap?
Attachments
Screenshot_Doom_20080330_140538.png
fucked up Standard HUD FTL :(
Screenshot_Doom_20080330_140538.png (248.98 KiB) Viewed 3753 times

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:39

Ehh... maybe I should stop working on this mod for a while... I've kinda lost my motivation for this... consider this mod on a temporary hiatus...

User avatar
Visplane_Overflow
What can I do to get out of this chickenshit uniform?
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 23:17
Location: Canadia

Post by Visplane_Overflow » Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:52

Damn.

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sun Apr 06, 2008 0:12

Oh yeah, here's this other video of this one GZDoom "joke" mod I was working on a while ago and then stopped and then worked on it again and then stopped again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mzZ0wi9UHc

Oh, and here's a video of me playing UACLABS with The Exterminator. You get to see the new Barney Calhoun Lizards sprites in action along with some brief in-game footage of the Medic Lizards and the new custom Fullscreen HUD.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FT5A3LMWL1Y

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:49

FUCK! My custom HUD still isn't fucking showing up in ZDoom! I even upgraded to the latest SVN too! What the hell is going on?!

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Fri Apr 11, 2008 23:58

Can someone help me with the shell casings and dropped magazine? I've been trying to mess around with this for some time and I still can't figure this out.

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sat Apr 26, 2008 22:36

I've done jack shit with my mod, but I have uploaded some concept art for this robot I was making called the Vanguarder. Sorry about the quality of the scans. The scanner I have is kinda crappy.

Original Concept Art
Concept Art 1
Concept Art 2

User avatar
lizardcommando
GIGA CRUSH!
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:12
Location: Somewhere in California

Post by lizardcommando » Sat May 17, 2008 5:12

It's pretty fucking hot right now and I still haven't done much shit with this mod. I might not have time next week due to Finals to get this shit started, but hopefully after all that shit is done, things will get rolling again. Anyways, here's what I need to do:

  • *Finish the Vangaurder robot
    *Remake the Trenchcoat Lizard
    *Implement shell casings and dropped magazines
    *Fix the HUD (Fullscreen and Classic style HUD)


I can do the first two on my own (although they'll take a long time to do) but I am going to need help with the last two things. Anyone want to be a cool person and help me?

Aside from that, I made two short Flash movies for the MGS Collab project over at Newgrounds. I hope mine makes it in.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Sat May 17, 2008 5:27

I could try to help with the status bar, but I'll warn that I haven't caught up with the latest advances in SBARINFO, so...

Locked

Return to “Development Journals”