Signs in game

Advanced OpenGL source port fork from ZDoom, picking up where ZDoomGL left off.
[Home] [Download] [Git builds (Win)] [Git builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo] [Bugs&Suggestions]

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Signs in game

Post by ExtremeMachine » Sun Nov 23, 2008 17:06

Hey

I'm currently trying to load some signs textures into my wad. It's not going very well cause i fail with the scales.

Example:

Image



This sign is 65X18 pixels, it's almost the smallest i can do in ps, paint without the letters gets noisy/too unclear. Also if i use that sign it gets HUGE in game, as the 65pixels is like a half wall or something.

There must be some way to do this, appreciate help alot.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4615
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Sun Nov 23, 2008 18:10

Well, first of all I would trim off some of the excess and make the graphic 64x16. Dimensions of powers of 2 are far more reliable in Doom.

Then, check out how to scale textures. There are a few ways to do this - eg you can scale them using the TEXTURE1 definitions

http://www.zdoom.org/wiki/Texture

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Sun Nov 23, 2008 20:09

Ok, i still dont rlly understand how i "write it". How the text i should put etc, i understand that u can use Texture1, texture2 as scaling the texture inside XWE. But i have no idea how i set it up?

If possible could anyone just make an example code or wad? It would help me alot, i understand if it's maybe too much to ask for.

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Sun Nov 23, 2008 20:15

You must put it in the patches lump, and not in the texture one. You have also to create a texture using it, sized 64x64 : 64 for the width, but also 64 for the height, like this:

Image

Then, when putting it on a wall, put some y offset to make it appearing.
That's it.
Here is the link to download it (bmp file):
http://gzdoom.doomwadstation.com/forum/patch-How_to.bmp

I hope to don't have written no matter what... :oops:

Image
Last edited by Jive on Sun Nov 23, 2008 21:07, edited 1 time in total.

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Sun Nov 23, 2008 20:19

ok then i get how to do it, but still the sign will get very big ?, as 64X64 is big in-game?

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Sun Nov 23, 2008 21:09

I updated my message with a screenshot

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4615
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Sun Nov 23, 2008 21:13

It doesn't need to be 64x64. The dimensions I posted already are fine. Hang on, I'll whip up an example...

[edit] Here you go. All that is in the WAD is a simple map, a copy of your graphic and a new pnames and texture1 lump.[/edit]

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Sun Nov 23, 2008 21:15

Is there by anychanse i can make them half as big as it is on ur screen?

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Sun Nov 23, 2008 21:16

Thanks Enjay, and jive! :), your the best!

Now when we talk about sized... I got some problems with hud sizes. When it's like 130X80 (verylow quality) It take up whole screen, i want to make the hud higher resulotion but still not want it all over my screen.

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Sun Nov 23, 2008 22:27

I learned something new, thanks to Enjay:
if you edit his wad with XWE, texture1, you'll see 2 fields for the patch, named "X Scale" and "Y Scale"
He put your patch 4 times, each time rescaled.

Woha...
Yes yes yes, I know, I'm a nerd !!
:p

And here is the result:
Image
Attachments
Lightings_Sign.zip
Here is it, with the hope that it will help you
(9.81 KiB) Downloaded 118 times

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Mon Nov 24, 2008 13:50

Last edited by ExtremeMachine on Mon Nov 24, 2008 14:48, edited 1 time in total.

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Mon Nov 24, 2008 13:50

ExtremeMachine wrote:Thanks Enjay, and jive! :), your the best!

Now when we talk about sized... I got some problems with hud sizes. When it's like 130X80 (verylow quality) It take up whole screen, i want to make the hud higher resulotion but still not want it all over my screen.
:P

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Mon Nov 24, 2008 16:44

I have updated my site with a short explanation:

http://gzdoom.doomwadstation.com/tricks.html#resized

ExtremeMachine
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 18:16

Post by ExtremeMachine » Tue Nov 25, 2008 16:13

you gotta pay me for using my layer!! Thats copyrighted! ffs :P

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Wed Nov 26, 2008 0:18

muhahahahaha :D

Locked

Return to “GZDoom”