Lights.wad

Advanced OpenGL source port fork from ZDoom, picking up where ZDoomGL left off.
[Home] [Download] [Git builds (Win)] [Git builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo] [Bugs&Suggestions]

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
Induna
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 17:39
Location: England

Lights.wad

Post by Induna » Sun Jul 23, 2006 18:05

Hi, new to GZDoom

Do I just put this in the GZDoom dir for the dynamic lights to work?

User avatar
Alter
A very lazy man with ambitions.
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:55
Location: Poland, Lodz

Post by Alter » Sun Jul 23, 2006 18:33

Put in skins folder!
If you do not have skins folder then create in gzdoom directory!

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Sun Jul 23, 2006 22:20

what?!?
skins folder???
Put it in the GZDoom dir and all will be fine.

User avatar
Shinjanji
Omegaman
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 16:45
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by Shinjanji » Sun Jul 23, 2006 22:39

Anything you put into the Skins folder gets automatically loaded.

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:45

curious...
And it's not true for the GZDoom dir?!?
Sorry to ask perhaps a stupid question, but I'm not pleased to do a search about it... if you have the answer, of course.

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Post by Nash » Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:54

No, wads will only be loaded automatically if you add them into /skins/. Simply placing the file in the same directory as GZDoom.exe wouldn't work.

However, you can edit your INI file to tell GZDoom to auto-load from a specific directory.

jflkbob
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:33
Location: behind you

Post by jflkbob » Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:16

i put it in my gzdoom.pk3 and it works

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Post by Nash » Mon Jul 24, 2006 17:15

Well, of course it does; gzdoom.pk3 is always loaded automatically.

User avatar
Alter
A very lazy man with ambitions.
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:55
Location: Poland, Lodz

Post by Alter » Mon Jul 24, 2006 18:13

it's just zip that you can edit! maybe it's possible in xwe to load wads into pk3 files

jflkbob
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:33
Location: behind you

Post by jflkbob » Mon Jul 24, 2006 22:25

Nash wrote: gzdoom.pk3 is always loaded automatically
exactally, thats why

User avatar
Induna
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 17:39
Location: England

Post by Induna » Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:07

Cheers.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4616
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Tue Jul 25, 2006 20:12

jflkbob wrote:
Nash wrote: gzdoom.pk3 is always loaded automatically
exactally, thats why
And over written every time a new version is installed. Why not use your ini or the skins directory?

Also (and not a lot of people know this) if you put a file called zvox.wad in your (G)Zdoom directory, it will automatically be loaded. This has been in Zdoom for years. I think it was originally intended to be a file for player voices but it can be a WAD with anything in it and it still works in current versions.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Graf Zahl » Tue Jul 25, 2006 21:03

Apparently it is too much for some people to autoload properly - with the autoload sections in the .INI.

User avatar
Jive
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 23:44
Location: Manaus (Amazonia)
Contact:

Post by Jive » Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:22

Graf Zahl wrote:Apparently it is too much for some people to autoload properly - with the autoload sections in the .INI.
I searched in my "doc" dir for zdoom, and I found this:
rh-log.txt wrote:September 15, 2001

- Fixed: Monsters that reached the end of a patrol path did not have their
reactiontime reset, so they would wait a very long time before attacking.
- Fixed: STYLE_Shaded ignored special colormaps like invulnerability.

- Added support for autoloading wads through the config file. Create a section called [Doom.Autoload] and place "Path=<file>" beneath it for each file to be automatically loaded. They are loaded after the files in the skins directory and before any files on the command line. Game can be Global to load the files for any game. Global files are added before game- specific files.
I tried it, but it don't works!!!
Those lines are simply deleted and the fields are empty after the load:

Code: Select all

[Doom.AutoExec]

[Doom.Autoload]
Last edited by Jive on Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:17, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Post by Nash » Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:04

Replace Game with the game you intend to autoload the files with. So if you want to autoload for Doom, use [Doom.Autoload].

Valid games are:

[Doom.Autoload]
[Heretic.Autoload]
[Hexen.Autoload]
[Raven.Autoload] for any Raven game
[Strife.Autoload]

Or, as Randy mentioned, you can replace Game with Global to autoload files for ANY game.

[Global.Autoload]

Locked

Return to “GZDoom”