New KwikStrip BETA!

News hot off the presses! (sort-of)

Moderator: BioHazard

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

New KwikStrip BETA!

Post by BioHazard » Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:13

After so many weeks of fixing stupid bugs I have finally finished KwikStrip 2.5! I'm pretty sure I eliminated all the bugs, but I'm releasing a 5-day public beta just in case.

I'm still working on the documentation for the skin format and a metrics editor. Those should be out in a few days as they are very simple.


Yay! Go check it out!

KwikStrip 2.5 BETA 3
KwikStrip SkinStudio 1.0 BETA 2
Last edited by BioHazard on Sun Mar 19, 2006 20:57, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Thu Mar 09, 2006 18:21

YESSSSS! Finally! I am installing this on both computers post-haste!

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Thu Mar 09, 2006 22:20

ACK!!! It crashes whenever I add something to the list of stuff. This is on WinXP SP2 on an Admin account. It appears to crash in ntdll.dll.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Thu Mar 09, 2006 22:52

Hmm, works for me.
Catch me on IRC. (#DRDTeam or #DMClub)

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:46

Well, I've got beta 2 and the skin studio ready to go. I'm just waiting for TDA to contact me about that bug he is experiencing.

If I'm not contacted by this time tomorrow, I'm going to release beta 2 and the skin studio anyway.

User avatar
DoomRater
I wanna get stuck in with da code
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:14
Location: Programmer's Room, talking to Will Harvey
Contact:

Post by DoomRater » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:49

Crashes when no title for the progam name is entered. You really should do something about that...

My fix: if the user hasn't put in a title manually at this point, use the EXEname without the extension.

Request: Add a hotkey function to open the strip once it's in focus, and optionally be able to make that a global. When in focus, 1-0 can open the first ten or so? Just thinking out loud here. Maybe by letter instead in case soeone has a really long strip.

Request 2: Further down the road, do you think you'll be able to implement dropping an application on the arrow and it gets added to the strip? Or drag reordering of the buttons? That'd all be really sweet.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:52

DoomRater wrote:Crashes when no title for the progam name is entered.
Fixed.
DoomRater wrote:Request: Add a hotkey function to open the strip once it's in focus
Already done, press space.
DoomRater wrote:When in focus, 1-0 can open the first ten or so? Just thinking out loud here. Maybe by letter instead in case soeone has a really long strip.
I had thought about this, I'm not sure how I would implement it without a signifigant amount of trouble.

Anyway, here is beta 2 and the skin studio. Really scrutinize the skin app since I wrote it pretty quick.

KwikStrip 2.5 BETA 2
KwikStrip SkinStudio 1.0 BETA 1
Last edited by BioHazard on Wed Mar 15, 2006 20:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DoomRater
I wanna get stuck in with da code
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:14
Location: Programmer's Room, talking to Will Harvey
Contact:

Post by DoomRater » Wed Mar 15, 2006 19:23

OMG DOWNLOAD$ $O FA$T! Testing now.

Edit: What TDA said... Everyone else use this till the link is updated (turns out b2 is exactly the same file as b1)
Last edited by DoomRater on Wed Mar 15, 2006 20:07, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Wed Mar 15, 2006 19:58

Bio: You've linked to beta 1. BTW, it works on my lappy.

EDIT: and what's the password for the zip? I can't beta test without the beta

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Wed Mar 15, 2006 20:36

Oh, link updated.

Zip password?

User avatar
DoomRater
I wanna get stuck in with da code
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:14
Location: Programmer's Room, talking to Will Harvey
Contact:

Post by DoomRater » Wed Mar 15, 2006 20:47

OKay, probs with the beta 2 version:

-keeps resetting my y-offset (I have it positioned next to the taskbar)

Probs with the skinmaker:
-doesn't properly save data like the info text color, info length, etc. (Could this be because you have to save it as a 256 color bitmap? it'd help if you specified that)

EDIT: yep, bitmaps must be saved as 256 color if order for the tag info to work. I'd like another way to save the file, rather than tagging extra data to a bitmap. Or if you must, change the extension to something else.
Last edited by DoomRater on Thu Mar 16, 2006 0:10, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Wed Mar 15, 2006 21:19

Bio: It's the windows file manager being stupid. It got horribly confused since I forgot to close KwikStrip before updating.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Wed Mar 15, 2006 23:40

I can confirm Doomrater's bug with the Y-offset resetting. It always reverts back to zero whenever the Config dialog is opened (though it goes back to whatever it was if you cancel).

User avatar
DoomRater
I wanna get stuck in with da code
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:14
Location: Programmer's Room, talking to Will Harvey
Contact:

Post by DoomRater » Fri Mar 17, 2006 20:44

Any news?

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Fri Mar 17, 2006 21:03

DoomRater wrote:Any news?
Yes, I fixed these minutes after your post, but I wanted my next post to be another release. It seems that's taking longer than I had expected. I'll just update now.
DoomRater wrote:-keeps resetting my y-offset (I have it positioned next to the taskbar)
Fixed. I can't believe I didn't think of the solution to this earlier...
DoomRater wrote:-doesn't properly save data like the info text color, info length, etc.
Fixed.
DoomRater wrote:you have to save it as a 256 color bitmap? it'd help if you specified that
Works for me. I just made a skin with a 24-bit bitmap.
The BugTracker wrote:When not specifying a working directory for a program, it defaults to the KwikStrip directory instead of that of the program being run.
It should use the application dir, I ran into problems with using the cwd by default so I added it in the first beta.
It was kinda funky though so I rewrote it a bit.
Last edited by BioHazard on Fri Mar 17, 2006 21:40, edited 1 time in total.

Locked

Return to “From Bio's Desk”