ZDL Error

Stuff you want Bio to see. [Home]

Moderator: BioHazard

Locked
Rightwing
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:21

ZDL Error

Post by Rightwing » Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:25

I can't get ZDL 3 to work at all. Here is what I'm doing...

I download it.
I put it in the Doom directory.
I double click on it.
It has an error and I see no text whatsoever.

I just got this GZDoom thingy and it's sweet as hell. I want to give it to my brother and network with him, but I need ZDL to do this.

Please help me so I can have lots of fun schooling my brother. Bio...you're my only hope.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:22

You are using Win98 aren't you?
ZDL (and a lot of my older software) doesn't work in 98 and there really isin't anything I can do about it right now.


I plan on re-writing it (again... :? ) to fix this and a few other things that have been bothering me.


I have a version that works in Win98 but it's unstable due to me adding some unfinished features. Should I release it? It wouldn't have any support, but it's not like ZDL has support now anyway...

Rightwing
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:21

Post by Rightwing » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:25

I'm using XP actually. I'm wondering if I need some DLL files or something... ?? It just whigs out when I try to run it and no text shows up.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:28

Maybe it's that thing in service pack 2 that makes stuff not work in the name of security? I forgot how to fix it. There's a topic on ZDF about it.

Rightwing
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:21

Post by Rightwing » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:31

I've been dupped by Microsoft once again. Do you know where I could find this "ZDF".. ?? Bio I'm a total noob -- I need you to spoonfeed me the answers to life's problems.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:43

Ah, here it is: http://forum.zdoom.org/potato.php?p=222806#222806

I was thinking about DEP. It might be the problem.

Rightwing
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:21

Post by Rightwing » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:46

Are "PWADS" and "IWADS" important in this issue? I just have .WAD files -- I don't know what PWADS and IWADS are or how they would be used.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4589
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Sat Jul 01, 2006 21:48


Locked

Return to “Bio's Site-Place”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest