Time to talk about wxZDL

Stuff you want Bio to see. [Home]

Moderator: BioHazard

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Time to talk about wxZDL

Post by BioHazard » Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:25

Yep, I'm working on wxZDL, though not so much untill I finish KwikStrip.

It's pretty much going to be a straight clone of ZDL3 unless anyone can give me another idea. Yeah, I'll update this post when new stuff comes up.


Anyway, here's that screenshot:
Image

User avatar
Risen
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 17:48
Contact:

Post by Risen » Wed Jul 19, 2006 18:29

ZDL is already great, I don't see need for much further improvement to its interface or feature set at the moment.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Wed Jul 19, 2006 20:18

Well, there are a couple of bugs that need to be fixed, like the PWAD saving thing and the port option brokenness. Mostly the reason I'm working on this one is for Linux support. That's why it will be a seperate project and probably not replace ZDL3 entirely.

After I get wxZDL out, I'll release the source for 3.0 so anyone who wants to figure out the aformentioned two bugs can have at it.

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Thu Jul 20, 2006 13:49

How big is the final binary? Doesn't wxWidgets add 1.1MB to the final filesize or something along those lines?

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Thu Jul 20, 2006 16:38

Yeah, something like that. I'd expect it to be a nice size, maybe 1.5MB. I'll UPX it though so that might help a bit.

You have to make sacrifices for cross-platform.

User avatar
Risen
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 17:48
Contact:

Post by Risen » Thu Jul 20, 2006 16:51

Bug fixes would would not be part of the interface or feature set...

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Thu Jul 20, 2006 17:53

I would fix the current version of ZDL, but the way I wrote it doesn't lend itself well to bug fixing. I had to string a bunch of hacks together to add the last couple of features so the code is pretty messy. Also, these particular bugs are in an area of the code that I really really don't want to mess with in fear of totally destroying it.

On top of that, I lost the source for the current version and all I have is a broken development version. If I released that, it would be even worse than what's out now.

User avatar
Alter
A very lazy man with ambitions.
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:55
Location: Poland, Lodz

Post by Alter » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:15

PK3 support is must have feature for launchers (I'm tired of command line which i must use to play pk3 wads!

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4589
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:42

Ummmm.... just rename them to zip (which is all they are anyway) or use the All files (*.*) option in ZDL, or type *.pk3 into the open file dialogue. All of the above work. The only thing that is missing with the current ZDL is PK3 being part of the file name filter.

User avatar
DoomRater
I wanna get stuck in with da code
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:14
Location: Programmer's Room, talking to Will Harvey
Contact:

Post by DoomRater » Thu Jul 27, 2006 0:21

Does Linux use the TAB key in a similar way to Windows? Not being able to navigate using only keyboard bugs me. (there are other things annoying, like the forms for entering an IWAD and Source Port engine, but I doubt you'll change those at this point)

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:19

It should. I'm not sure.

I'm not sure why the tab stuff doesn't work in 3.0 though...

User avatar
Risen
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 17:48
Contact:

Post by Risen » Thu Jul 27, 2006 17:53

I discovered what I consider to be a bug.

If the Warp box is left empty, the +map command is still placed into the command line. It only strips +map if you set the dropdown to NONE. (Hey, what happens if you have a map called NONE?)

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Thu Jul 27, 2006 20:22

I'm redoing the warp thing for wxZDL anyway. I'd like it to scan PWADs and zips for maps. Anyone know of a good way to do this without requiring DLLs and stuff? Doesn't wx have a built in zip thing?

I could also just make it a typed field with no default selections too ;)

User avatar
Risen
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 17:48
Contact:

Post by Risen » Fri Jul 28, 2006 13:23

BioHazard wrote:I could also just make it a typed field with no default selections too ;)
Works for me.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Fri Jul 28, 2006 17:32

Risen wrote:Works for me.
@All: Does it work for everyone else? I'd really like to be able to can the wad searching, It's very prone to problems and would save me a whole source file.

Locked

Return to “Bio's Site-Place”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest