ZDLSharp Beta Testers

Stuff you want Bio to see. [Home]

Moderator: BioHazard

QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

ZDLSharp Beta Testers

Post by QBasicer »

Hey Guys! I need you to test ZDLSharp for me! There are some known glitches, but see what you can dig up for me. You need the .NET framework 2.0 from Microsoft (Available here).

Many thanks!
Last edited by QBasicer on Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:44, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
solarsnowfall
Persecution Complex
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:51

Post by solarsnowfall »

See you on MSN.

[edit]First observed issue. On XP SP 2.
Attachments
Bottom buttons are cut off.
Bottom buttons are cut off.
cuttoff.gif (9.43 KiB) Viewed 8190 times
User avatar
solarsnowfall
Persecution Complex
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:51

Post by solarsnowfall »

ZDL 3.0 C# 0.1 wrote:Unhandled exception has occured in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately. Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at ZDLSharp.ZDLConf.genCmdLine(Int32 iwad, String cline)
at ZDLSharp.ZDLWindow.launch_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
-- --------------------------------------
ZDLSharp
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/GZDoom/ZDLSharp.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
This was while attempting to launch a GZDoom session with a custom WAD file
QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

Post by QBasicer »

Issues Fixed:
- FileNotFound dialog popping up a million times when no zdl.ini file is found.
- Fixed null pointer exception on launch.
- Hopefully fixed size issue.
User avatar
solarsnowfall
Persecution Complex
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:51

Post by solarsnowfall »

Both of my previous issues seem to have been fixed.
User avatar
chaoscentral
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 14:08
Location: E1M1
Contact:

Post by chaoscentral »

I tried it on Vista Works Great!
QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

Post by QBasicer »

Due to a busy week this week (4 midterms, phew!), ZDLSharp has been put on hold until next week. The next thing on my todo list is iron out any .zdl file loading problems, implement the warp field.
User avatar
BioHazard
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard »

/me endorses ZDLSharp, even though it's in a funky language.

I'm so glad someone took up ZDL after all this time. I feel bad for letting it rot for so long.
QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

Post by QBasicer »

Looks like ZDLSharp works in Linux... well mostly. I'm going to continue to Iron out bugs for Win32, then tackle some of the issues arising in the Linux version.

Just to clarify, the Win32 and Linux versions are actually the same program. Mono can natively run C# applications, with a few glitches, but I'll try and make it as compatible as possible. Bio did some testing, and it actually launches ZDoom, so that's a step forward.
QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

Post by QBasicer »

New upload, a few fixes. Ironed out a couple major inferface bugs, but I still have a lot of work to do. The old ZDL didn't let you specify come more advanced multiplayer switches, I've added a new dialog to handle that correctly.
User avatar
chaoscentral
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 14:08
Location: E1M1
Contact:

Post by chaoscentral »

QBasicer wrote:Looks like ZDLSharp works in Linux... well mostly. I'm going to continue to Iron out bugs for Win32, then tackle some of the issues arising in the Linux version.

Just to clarify, the Win32 and Linux versions are actually the same program. Mono can natively run C# applications, with a few glitches, but I'll try and make it as compatible as possible. Bio did some testing, and it actually launches ZDoom, so that's a step forward.
Just a bit curious, but how does CSharp work in Linux, I thought it was a .NET language. I'm asking because I've been learning CSharp for a month or so and was wondering.

Edit: Sorry, read first paragraph only... my bad :)
Last edited by chaoscentral on Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:08, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wildweasel
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel »

Mono, mentioned in his post, is a framework that allows .NET applications to run in Linux, Mac OS, and other systems.
QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

Post by QBasicer »

Well you see, C# is kind of like Java. Basically a bytecode is embedded in the application, and upon execution, the program is compiled using a JIT (Just In Time) compiler. Since I imagine C# is closed source, much like the Wine project, they have to reverse engineer C# for the Mono project (although I don't actually know, don't take my word for it).

In closing, a sourceforge project has been opened at sf.net/projects/zdlsharp. It has a nice bug tracker, feature request tracker, and support tracker, as well as giving me some better refined statistics. It also gives me many many mirrors. Any bugs should be reported to sourceforge, and I will deal with them there.

I also have a few conceptual ideas for ZDLSharp 4.0 that should prove useful.
User avatar
grubber
Site Founder
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 18:57
Location: Czech Republic, Zlin
Contact:

Post by grubber »

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mono_%28software%29

Personally I prefer Java because it's GPL now and doesn't have to deal with Microsoft intelectual property bullshit.
QBasicer
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:18

Post by QBasicer »

I really don't like working in Java for these kinds of projects. I'm not sure if I can actually use Win32 specific things like WMI, and link to custom DLLs that provide named pipe ability.
Locked

Return to “Bio's Site-Place”