Page 1 of 1

Kwikstrip questions?

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 17:58
by XaviarCraig
I have been using Kwikstrip as my default shell in windows and its working pretty good but there are a few questions I have about it.

Is it possible to make it so you can ALT+TAB to it?
Is it possible to make it always extended?
Is it possible to make it so you have multiple strips for say... different groups of programs?

Thank you for your time!

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 19:24
by wildweasel
Now that I think of it...

1. You could set the KwikStrip to a hotkey to bring it to the front.
2. Uncheck the Auto Close Strip box in the settings and that should keep it open.
3. I actually have this set up - I have two seperate copies of KwikStrip with their own unique INI files and such. Only thing is, you have to keep them in different directories otherwise only one will run at a time.

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 1:34
by XaviarCraig
The first two help, but the 3rd one is a problem because I cant get multiple programs to launch when windows starts and I cant move the strip(s) around so they are all on top of each other...

EDIT: Think I could add just another "shell" entry?
Image

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:27
by wildweasel
As far as I know, KwikStrip doesn't use registry entries. Or at least, it SHOULDN'T use the registry. To move the strips around, you can just go into the options and use the Y Offset feature to move it around, though it can only be docked on the right side of the screen.

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 15:49
by XaviarCraig
I do not think it normally uses registry entries, but I use it in the shell entry in order to replace the crappy explorer shell Microsoft provides. My point being; There is only 1 shell entry and in order to have multiple kwikstrips load when windows starts I would need multiple shell entries.

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 16:32
by wildweasel
Can't you just stick a shortcut to Kwikstrip in the StartUp folder in the Start menu, or does that depend on Explorer?

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 20:47
by XaviarCraig
Yea... I think it does...

Re: Kwikstrip questions?

Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 21:40
by BioHazard
OMG I'm not dead! I only have a few things to say though.
XaviarCraig wrote:Is it possible to make it so you can ALT+TAB to it?

Code: Select all

[color=blue]--- kwik.c	2006-12-14 01:37:51.000000000 -0800
+++ kwik-alttab.c	2007-08-23 13:27:36.000000000 -0700[/color]
[color=violet]@@ -199,7 +199,7 @@[/color]
[color=black]     }else{msg.wParam=0;}
 break;
 default: // Start normally
[/color][color=red]-    vr.wnd=CreateWindowEx(WS_EX_TOOLWINDOW|(cf.disp==KS_DSP_TOP?WS_EX_TOPMOST:0),"kscls",STR_TITLE,WS_VISIBLE|WS_POPUP|WS_CLIPCHILDREN,0,0,0,0,HWND_DESKTOP,0,inst,0);[/color]
[color=green]+    vr.wnd=CreateWindowEx((cf.disp==KS_DSP_TOP?WS_EX_TOPMOST:0),"kscls",STR_TITLE,WS_VISIBLE|WS_POPUP|WS_CLIPCHILDREN,0,0,0,0,HWND_DESKTOP,0,inst,0);[/color]     
[color=black]     while(GetMessage(&msg,0,0,0)){TranslateMessage(&msg);DispatchMessage(&msg);}
 // Delete stuff
     DestroyWindow(vr.wnd);
[/color]
wildweasel wrote:As far as I know, KwikStrip doesn't use registry entries.
It doesn't. The registry is evil! (/me waves his fist at gConf)

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 2:33
by XaviarCraig
yay... I dont know anything outside a twisted form of basic! Oh well, I am taking class on C soon, so hopefully I can figure out what that means!