Page 1 of 1

Is TEXTURES translucency supported?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2021 16:26
by david_a00
I've been unsuccessfully trying to get layered translucent patches to work. I've seen in the source that the Blend stuff is commented out; are the other transparency options also not implemented? I followed an example from here, but when I try the below in ECWolf I just get a solid black texture.

If I understand how TEXTURES is supposed to work, the below should be a weird blend of two textures but I just get solid black.

Code: Select all

Texture Test, 64, 64
{
	Patch GSTONEA1, 0, 0
	Patch WOOD1, 0, 0
	{
		Alpha 0.5
		Style Translucent
	}
}

Re: Is TEXTURES translucency supported?

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2021 21:41
by Blzut3
Looks like I accidentally left some code commented out when I was integrating it into the Wolf3D code base. Specifically FTexture::CopyTrueColorPixels.

I think I forgot to return to enabling this code since I can't think of any reason that the Blend command was commented out other than that particular block of code was temporarily disabled to get the texture manager compiling.

I'll push the fixed commit after Atlassian is done with their maintenance.

Edit: Finally was able to push ac4a229.

Re: Is TEXTURES translucency supported?

Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2021 0:04
by david_a00
Awesome; I’ll check out a dev build soon