How to force English language?

Something not working in GZDoom that's not a bug? Is the display a bit quirky and unexpected? Post here.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
underskyzx
male
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:07

How to force English language?

Post by underskyzx » Mon Mar 13, 2017 22:10

I think GZDoom detects my country somewhere and sets the language to Portuguese, no offense but the translation sucks, I would like to play in English is there a way to force?

Thanks and sorry if I offended the Portuguese translator :P

User avatar
Blue Shadow
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:09

Re: How to force English language?

Post by Blue Shadow » Mon Mar 13, 2017 22:38

There is a language console variable, try that.

underskyzx
male
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:07

Re: How to force English language?

Post by underskyzx » Mon Mar 13, 2017 22:44

I modified that variable in the ini and it worked, no more weird Portuguese mixed with English.

Thanks!

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4598
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: How to force English language?

Post by Enjay » Mon Mar 13, 2017 23:04

underskyzx wrote:no offense but the translation sucks
If you were interested in creating a better translation yourself, it might be possible to have it included with the game (though I believe many non-native English speakers set it to use English anyway).

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: How to force English language?

Post by Rachael » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:32

Yeah - especially with things being constantly added, there's no way to keep all the languages in sync, so the English is always updated first. Usually if it's in English it's a new enough feature that the last translator never got around to translating it.

If you want to help out, take the language.enu file and translate it to your own language and submit it. It helps a ton! :)
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

underskyzx
male
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:07

Re: How to force English language?

Post by underskyzx » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:34

Rachael wrote:
Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:32
Yeah - especially with things being constantly added, there's no way to keep all the languages in sync, so the English is always updated first. Usually if it's in English it's a new enough feature that the last translator never got around to translating it.

If you want to help out, take the language.enu file and translate it to your own language and submit it. It helps a ton! :)
My english sucks I prefer just because english looks better IMO

Locked

Return to “Technical Support”