Brutal Doom and Ubuntu

Something not working in GZDoom that's not a bug? Is the display a bit quirky and unexpected? Post here.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
underskyzx
male
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:07

Brutal Doom and Ubuntu

Post by underskyzx » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:30

I can't figure what I'm doing wrong here, I edited the gzdoom.ini inside ~/.config/gzdoom and put this:

Code: Select all

[Global.Autoload]
Path=~/.config/gzdoom/brutalv20b.pk3
Path=~/.config/gzdoom/hellonearthstarterpack.wad
Path=~/.config/gzdoom/extratextures.wad
All the wads and pk3 are there, the game starts and it's just normal Doom 2.

Doesn't help that I'm noob at Linux too :mrgreen:

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: Brutal Doom and Ubuntu

Post by _mental_ » Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:07

For some reason tilde isn't resolved, at least in Autoload entries. Full paths are working.

underskyzx
male
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:07

Re: Brutal Doom and Ubuntu

Post by underskyzx » Mon Mar 27, 2017 19:39

_mental_ wrote:
Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:07
For some reason tilde isn't resolved, at least in Autoload entries. Full paths are working.
I tried with home/.config/gzdoom and /home/.config/gzdoom and still not working :(

edit: found out that the correct should be /home/username/.config/gzdoom

but got another problem

Code: Select all

GZDoom g2.4.0 - 2017-03-19 21:36:18 +0100 - SDL version
Compiled on Mar 21 2017

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding /opt/gzdoom/gzdoom.pk3, 699 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/doom2.wad, 2919 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/brutalv20b.pk3, 8370 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/brutalv20b.pk3:e2m8.wad, 11 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/brutalv20b.pk3:e3m8.wad, 11 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/brutalv20b.pk3:terrain.wad, 260 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/hellonearthstarterpack.wad, 3562 lumps
 adding /home/guilherme/.config/gzdoom/extratextures.wad, 43 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-7100 CPU @ 3.90GHz
  Family 6, Model 158, Stepping 9
  Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright � Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.44.63
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
Attempting to remap texture RSKY3 to non-existent lump RSKY3B
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
Attempt to get invalid state See from actor ImpTorso.
Attempt to get invalid state See from actor DeadImp.
Bad hex number: no
Script error, "brutalv20b.pk3:blood.txt" line 610:
Expected ',', got 'l'.
Found out that it's a Brutal Doom's issue at http://www.moddb.com/forum/thread/bruta ... -on-gzdoom

Finally it's working now! :D

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: Brutal Doom and Ubuntu

Post by _mental_ » Mon Mar 27, 2017 19:57

Probably the simplest solution is to use unofficial patch.
You can google this problem by the way, there is lots of information about it.

Locked

Return to “Technical Support”