Wolf_boa discussion

General discussion about DRD & website stuff.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Mr. Impatience
Stronghold Team
Posts: 3555
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:15
Location: Germany
Contact:

Wolf_boa discussion

Post by Tormentor667 » Tue Feb 09, 2016 20:02

Thanks, I think I spotted and fixed it, the new version is online.

Any more suggestions or hints from both of you while we are at it in this comfortable moment? :)

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [gzdoom2.1pre1972] Rendering issue

Post by Rachael » Tue Feb 09, 2016 21:35

Well I already told Remmirath how to fix C3M2 not loading, I dunno if he managed to put in the fix but I did see he was able to split the textures.

The author of that map needs to be told that you can't put anything except maps in the maps/ folder. Anything that has textures+maps won't work.

I'm loading it now to see if I can find anything further.

EDIT: Played through some of the first chapter. Here are my notes... they are just rough notes, sorry.

If you have clipping problems viewing the screenshots on this forum, you can try right clicking them and clicking "View This Image" if your browser supports it.

C1M2: Stuck doggies at the gate. Poor doggies. :(
[spoiler]
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_160053.png
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_160053.png (481.48 KiB) Viewed 204 times
[/spoiler]

C1M2: Metal wire-floor: It feels very odd not to be able to shoot through this 3D sector...
[spoiler]
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_160332.png
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_160332.png (812.2 KiB) Viewed 204 times
[/spoiler]

C1M3: More stuck doggies. I am thinking this is a DECORATE problem now.
[spoiler]
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_160511.png
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_160511.png (480.55 KiB) Viewed 204 times
[/spoiler]

C1M4: Script error on an elevator switch
[spoiler]
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_163230.png
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_163230.png (267.81 KiB) Viewed 204 times
[/spoiler]

C1M5: You aren't even making this an easter egg are you? :P At least no one will pass by and miss it!
[spoiler]
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_164123.png
Screenshot_Doom_20160209_164123.png (569.67 KiB) Viewed 204 times
[/spoiler]

General:
* Maybe have a notice when your gun needs to be reloaded? A few times I pressed the fire key wondering why it wouldn't fire. I later turned on the auto-reload option though.
* I notice in this mod there is a huge mix of "old" and "new". Might look fine on 320x200, but on an HD monitor it really looks tacky having them jumbled together with one another. MacWolf has some upgraded sprites, so that might help.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

User avatar
Tormentor667
Mr. Impatience
Stronghold Team
Posts: 3555
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 23:15
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [gzdoom2.1pre1972] Rendering issue

Post by Tormentor667 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 16:19

Hey Eruanna, thanks alot for your feedback, here are my comments :)
  • The dogs being stuck was a GZDoom bug which was fixed lately afaik. At least it works again for me but didn't before as well.
  • Metal wire floor, that's true but unfortunately there is no way to make 3dfloors "shoot-through" yet
  • Broken elevator switch has been fixed
  • Dogse was placed by accident, the easter egg is somewhere else, thanks for pointing that out :)
  • For the auto reload, well, it should be reloaded "automatically" as standard setting, I will take care of that
  • The mixture of old and new is something unusual, I know that, but it's the spirit of this mod somehow. I know there are these Mac sprites but they lack rotations and we have so many edited sprites there in the old original scale, that turning them into the Mac size is actually impossible without a horde of sprite artists :)

User avatar
Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1393
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: [gzdoom2.1pre1972] Rendering issue

Post by Gez » Sat Feb 13, 2016 23:05

Tormentor667 wrote:unfortunately there is no way to make 3dfloors "shoot-through" yet
Yes there is. Change type from 1 to 33, and you'll get a solid 3D floor that can be shot through.
[wiki]Sector_Set3dFloor[/wiki]

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [gzdoom2.1pre1972] Rendering issue

Post by Rachael » Sun Feb 14, 2016 13:09

You're welcome, Tormentor. :) And thanks for pointing that out, Gez. :)
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Post Reply

Return to “General”