[GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Moderators: Rachael, dpJudas

William

[GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by William » Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:21

Not sure if QZDoom is yet synced with the latest GZDoom, but the GZDoom renderer has a broken palette tonemap resulting in a black screen.
Running QZDoom q1.1pre-260. Latest GZDoom build works perfectly.

My graphics card is a Geforce GTX 1080 with driver 375.95

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:23

Works fine for me. What mods are you running?
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:27

I'm a bit confused - The post says GZDoom, the forum you posted in is QZDoom. Then you both state that GZDoom is broken and working at the same time. :)

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:44

He's referring to the GZDoom renderer that is included in QZDoom - not GZDoom, itself.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:05

Ah, I see. :) Not able to reproduce it on my computer either.

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Nash » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:36

Can confirm OP's problem:

I am using QZDoom q1.1pre-260-gc37ce1f, OpenGL renderer, -noautoload, running stock Doom 2.

Intel i7 950
Windows 8.1
NVidia GTX 960 with driver v372.70

The PALETTE tonemap setting shows a black screen. All other tonemap settings are working as normal.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:50

Can you post your config, please?
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:12

Hmm, when did this start happening? I haven't made any changes to the GL part since the SSAO branch, which hasn't been touched for quite a while now. And afaik Graf hasn't been doing anything either as he's been busy with ZScript.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:23

And I wonder why it works fine for 2 people and is bugged for 2 others. (Fun fact: Like most computer problems, the problem goes away when there's someone who can fix it. :P)
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:24

Okay, partly found the cause. You were both using a newer driver than me. After upgrading to the latest WHQL driver the palette tonemap produces a black screen on my computer as well.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:28

That doesn't explain why it works fine in GZDoom, though - shared code base, shared problems, no?
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:42

It doesn't work in GZDoom. At least not the version I tried on my computer. :)

The bad news is that we can expect more complaining about this as more people upgrade their drivers.

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:43

Okay, actually, it does work in GZDoom. I forgot my local version of GZDoom had the SSAO thing compiled in. That means it is triggered by the SSAO branch, somehow.

Edit: now I'm really puzzled. Switched to my GZDoom SSAO branch and here it doesn't do it! So it is only in QZDoom it creates a black screen!!

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3617
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:01

I'm willing to bet this is a simple shader error. Is it possible to debug the shaders themselves, directly? (I've never done that before, btw)

(Also - because compatibility profiles are goofy as fuck on some systems - try renaming qzdoom.exe to gzdoom.exe and see if you still get the error. :P)
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

dpJudas
Developer
Developer
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:53

Re: [GZDOOM renderer q1.1pre-260] Palette tonemap black screen

Post by dpJudas » Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:07

You can, but the tools are all quite terrible. There's Renderdoc, which allows you to capture a rendered frame. It is what I usually use, but for some reason GZDoom does something that makes it run extremely slow and there's glitches in the rendering itself (really reassuring!). Then there's Nvidia's tool, can't remember its name. Behind a registration wall and blue screened my computer the last time I tried to see if it was of any use.

Locked

Return to “Closed Bugs”