Display problem

Moderators: Rachael, dpJudas

Locked
Guest

Display problem

Post by Guest » Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:29

Tried playing 1pre-65 (64 bit) and it launched, but it gave me a black screen with the left-most vertical line of pixels on my monitor displaying a flickering of red. I managed to quit QZDoom (evidenced by the quit sound) but it left my normal desktop/not in a program's hard-fullscreen viewing mode, looking like the aforementioned black screen with vertical line of red pixels. Driver issue? Never had this problem in any port, ever. QZ 1.0 doesn't give me this issue.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Display problem

Post by Rachael » Sat Nov 05, 2016 13:14

Can you post your startup log?

Code: Select all

qzdoom +log logfile.txt
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Abba Zabba

Re: Display problem

Post by Abba Zabba » Sat Nov 05, 2016 13:34

Sure, now that I'm looking at the symptoms I believe it's just outright crashing my GPU, which seems to fix itself by going into sleep mode and then waking up.

However, putting that into the command line didn't generate a log.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Display problem

Post by Rachael » Sat Nov 05, 2016 13:37

Please post your startup log with GL rendering turned on.

Code: Select all

qzdoom +vid_renderer 1 +log logfile.txt
It doesn't give all the info needed but it will at least tell me what CPU you're using.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Guest

Re: Display problem

Post by Guest » Sat Nov 05, 2016 13:59

It didn't generate a log when I put +log in the command line. I'll try again, but if it doesn't work it doesn't work.

Guest

Re: Display problem

Post by Guest » Sat Nov 05, 2016 14:10

Yeah the log just isn't generating. GL renderer works just fine in QZ, however.

CPU is an Intel Core i7 2600k.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Display problem

Post by Rachael » Sat Nov 05, 2016 14:19

Oh, it's +logfile, not +log. >_> oops.

Okay, run this command, then:

Code: Select all

qzdoom -norun +logfile log.txt +vid_renderer 0
This will run the game's initialization without actually starting it, and will also give us LLVM's target triplet.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Guest

Re: Display problem

Post by Guest » Sat Nov 05, 2016 14:34

+logfile still does nothing.

Guest

Re: Display problem

Post by Guest » Sat Nov 05, 2016 14:50

Logfile is the only command line action not playing along, everything else works. Even tried quoting the log file name.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Display problem

Post by Rachael » Sat Nov 05, 2016 15:08

I am all out of ideas, then. :(
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Guest

Re: Display problem

Post by Guest » Sat Nov 05, 2016 15:14

Messed around more and the GPU crash seems to only happen with hard fullscreen enabled from version 30 all the way to 68.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Display problem

Post by Rachael » Sat Nov 05, 2016 15:46

Ugh. That's the time when Randi redid some parts of the renderer. Can you please post your full config file?

Additionally, please attempt this:

Code: Select all

qzdoom +llvm_cpu core2
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Abba Zabba

Re: Display problem

Post by Abba Zabba » Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:52

Sorry for the late response.
Attachments
qzdoom.ini
(13.87 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Display problem

Post by Rachael » Sun Nov 06, 2016 13:42

Are you able to run plain ol' ZDoom?

What happens when you do "+swrenderer false"?

What happens when you do "+vid_used3d false"?
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Guest

Re: Display problem

Post by Guest » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:50

Yes, same GPU crashing problem is happening now with ZDoom builds as well. GZDoom still works fine for me. Haven't tried either mode you asked.

Locked

Return to “Bugs (Archive)”