gzdoom 2.x branch doesn't work with QeffectsGL...

Advanced OpenGL source port fork from ZDoom, picking up where ZDoomGL left off.
[Home] [Download] [Git builds (Win)] [Git builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo] [Bugs&Suggestions]

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
StefanMewa
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 14:23

gzdoom 2.x branch doesn't work with QeffectsGL...

Post by StefanMewa » Wed Sep 17, 2014 14:41

an opengl hack for bloom, emboss and other effects (http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=34585)
i understand that this compatibility is not your goal, so i just wanna know if i should say goodbye to this?
ps: version previous to 2.x works with it.

User avatar
Tiger
Siberian Tigers Rule All~!!!
Developer
Developer
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: gzdoom 2.x branch doesn't work with QeffectsGL...

Post by Tiger » Wed Sep 17, 2014 16:27

StefanMewa wrote:an opengl hack for bloom, emboss and other effects (http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=34585)
i understand that this compatibility is not your goal, so i just wanna know if i should say goodbye to this?
ps: version previous to 2.x works with it.
Mostlikely, yes, say goodbye to it until someone updates the data file to support the latest version of GZDoom.
Nicholas 'Tiger' Gautier

StefanMewa
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 14:23

Re: gzdoom 2.x branch doesn't work with QeffectsGL...

Post by StefanMewa » Wed Sep 17, 2014 16:59

Tiger wrote:
Mostlikely, yes
ok. thanks for reply.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: gzdoom 2.x branch doesn't work with QeffectsGL...

Post by Graf Zahl » Wed Sep 17, 2014 17:43

No, it doesn't work and it won't ever work.
QEffectsGL requires old style OpenGL, meaning no shaders, preferably no vertex buffers and doing everything with the fixed function pipeline. None of these things exist anymore in GZDoom 2.x which is 99.9% a modern core profile application - the only exception being that it uses immediate mode to render from CPU-side buffers because uploading those to the GPU as frequently as needed is not fast enough.

StefanMewa
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 14:23

Re: gzdoom 2.x branch doesn't work with QeffectsGL...

Post by StefanMewa » Wed Sep 17, 2014 17:48

Graf Zahl wrote:No, it doesn't work and it won't ever work.
QEffectsGL requires old style OpenGL, meaning no shaders, preferably no vertex buffers and doing everything with the fixed function pipeline. None of these things exist anymore in GZDoom 2.x which is 99.9% a modern core profile application - the only exception being that it uses immediate mode to render from CPU-side buffers because uploading those to the GPU as frequently as needed is not fast enough.
that ends the issue, thanks for reply and for all your work.

Locked

Return to “GZDoom”