Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Advanced OpenGL source port fork from ZDoom, picking up where ZDoomGL left off.
[Home] [Download] [Git builds (Win)] [Git builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo] [Bugs&Suggestions]

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Rachael » Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:49

That's likely my fault, really, I did it without consulting anyone at all. I just wanted a quick and easy solution, and I didn't want to make anybody else work for it.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

User avatar
Rex Claussen
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2400
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 18:36
Contact:

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Rex Claussen » Sun Feb 12, 2017 14:42

Graf Zahl wrote:Why did nobody ask? I'm here all the time, you could have gotten a better answer if someone had just bothered. :(
If you just need an automated way to convert light levels into sector colors, I guess the only way to do that is to define a ZSCRIPT actor that scans the entire sector array in its Tick function and converts the light level into sector color.
Would someone translate this for me, please? Is it a viable solution to use a defaultmap while also being able to assign sector-specific fog?

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Rachael » Fri Feb 17, 2017 18:41

This issue is now resolved. Instead of having to go through each sector by sector color like I thought I was going to have to do - Graf did this commit which enabled me to do this:

Code: Select all

defaultmap
{
lightmode = 0
fogdensity = 1
fade = "00 00 00"
evenlighting
nolightfade
}
Note the change of lightmode from 4 to 0 to enable this. Warp to map15 - and wow. It works just absolutely perfect, and it looks nice, too.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Graf Zahl » Fri Feb 17, 2017 19:28

Wait a minute - this was using the broken (by intent) LEGACY light mode? No wonder nothing worked right. That mode overrides half the light and fog settings with what Doom Legacy would do and that was rather borked from the start.

User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Rachael » Fri Feb 17, 2017 20:00

It still looked better than 0 with the diminishing light effects.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat Feb 18, 2017 0:02

You should have used 1 instead of 0. It might have looked better because it uses far less intense fog.

User avatar
Rex Claussen
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2400
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 18:36
Contact:

Re: Selectively Setting Up Fog in Maps?

Post by Rex Claussen » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:51

Graf Zahl wrote:Wait a minute - this was using the broken (by intent) LEGACY light mode? No wonder nothing worked right. That mode overrides half the light and fog settings with what Doom Legacy would do and that was rather borked from the start.
Actually, the fog effects in Map15 had been set up at least 4 or 5 years back, before the use of defaultmap settings in MAPINFO. The introduction of defaultmap in conjunction with the newer GZDooM builds was what seemed to be causing the conflict.

Glad all is well now. Thanks to both of you for fixing this.

Locked

Return to “GZDoom”