Ambient Light Level gone :-(

Advanced OpenGL source port fork from ZDoom, picking up where ZDoomGL left off.
[Home] [Download] [Git builds (Win)] [Git builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo] [Bugs&Suggestions]

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
User avatar
muhnwalker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 18:13

Ambient Light Level gone :-(

Post by muhnwalker » Fri Apr 07, 2017 15:11

Hi,

I play a lot of GZDoom,

and spent hours finding a proper light-level configuration that works for me,
is not too dark but also not ugly as hell... I turned ambient light level to 180.

The gama correction, brightness and contrast settings are useless for me,
they turn everything gray and ugly.

Now when I update to the newest GZDoom version,
the option "Ambient Light Level" is gone.
Why is this? Will it come back?

Attached are 2 pictures of the 2 versions, with the same settings,
old version: g2.1.pre-1231-g5a7afad
new version: g2.4.0

Thanks,
Muhnwalker
Attachments
new2.jpg
new2.jpg (223.11 KiB) Viewed 1070 times
new1.jpg
new1.jpg (236.72 KiB) Viewed 1070 times
old2.jpg
old2.jpg (274.81 KiB) Viewed 1070 times
old1.jpg
old1.jpg (333.04 KiB) Viewed 1070 times
Last edited by muhnwalker on Fri Apr 07, 2017 21:35, edited 2 times in total.

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: Ambient Light Level gone :-(

Post by _mental_ » Fri Apr 07, 2017 16:00

Graf Zahl wrote:This really serves no use anymore and is mostly a remnant of old times with dark CRT monitors. The default ambient level was set at 20, meaning a sector light level of 40. This is a value actual levels rarely get to, except when using some lighting effects - but it's for those that the ambient clamping did the most damage.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Ambient Light Level gone :-(

Post by Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 07, 2017 16:11

The main problem with this option was that it made it close to impossible for mappers to get a consistent look for their levels. It was a hard cut-off that eliminated any variation below the active setting. The reason it was ditched was a bug report that showed some of the issues it could cause with smoothly pulsating lights (i.e. they were no longer smooth but actually jumped between 0 and the cut-off.

User avatar
muhnwalker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 18:13

Re: Ambient Light Level gone :-(

Post by muhnwalker » Fri Apr 07, 2017 21:33

Hm, okay, thank you!
Do you know what was the latest version, in which the option was still available?

Locked

Return to “GZDoom”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest