GZDoom 1.5.3 released

News about GZDoom.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:19

A new release is out.

The one major new feature is the improved menu code. The new menu can be fully controlled with the mouse.

Aside from that it's mostly bugfixes related to the textured automap code that was introduced in 1.5.2

Mike.Reiner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 20:43

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Mike.Reiner » Thu Sep 23, 2010 22:48

Sweet action. *downloads*

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4578
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Enjay » Fri Sep 24, 2010 0:35

Thanks Graf. Always nice to see an official release. :)

User avatar
BlazingPhoenix
Posts: 488
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:11
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by BlazingPhoenix » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:04

Horray! I'm kinda happy you're still doing bugfixes to this. :)

User avatar
TIHan
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 20:02

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by TIHan » Fri Sep 24, 2010 20:03

Menu code is pretty sweet Graf! Just have to get used using the mouse in the menu.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Fri Sep 24, 2010 20:57

You don't have to...

User avatar
TIHan
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 20:02

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by TIHan » Fri Sep 24, 2010 22:25

IMO, mouse is better than keyboard for a game menu.
Since we have used our keyboard for the Doom menu for so long, it just wigs me out that there is a cursor there. But it is awesome.

Barry
I'm new here
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 15:48

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Barry » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:45

The mouse is very nice to use to get to an option in the game menu fast. I only saw that when you hover over an option, it doesn't
make a sound, unlike when you use the arrow keys to go up and down with the menu options (It does, however, make a sound when
you click on an option with the mouse). Is it supposed to be like that?

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:52

Yes. Doom's menu sounds get way too annoying when they come each time you hover over an item with the mouse.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4578
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Enjay » Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:53

I agree with that. Just gliding your mouse over the menu would make a horrible "clunk,clunk,clunk,clunk" noise if they weren't disabled.

However, I suspect that this will be one of those "bugs" that continue to get reported on and off every now and again.

Da Snoop
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 20:50
Location: Czech Republic

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Da Snoop » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:18

Perhaps the sound it makes when you hover over the menu item might be optional? I mean defined in SNDINFO, quiet by default.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:32

Good idea. I'll see if that's easily doable.

gravitar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:17

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by gravitar » Mon Oct 04, 2010 17:00

Thanks for the new update. A few points that came to mind:


- when using a high dpi mouse, it's too fast in the menus (a problem in many other ports/older games). Would it be possible to have control over the mouse speed in the menus (i.e. setting a certain % of current sens)?

- the dialogue of "overwrite savegame/quicksave over/quit game" closes when just clicking somewhere in the window. In the heat of the battle one might think (I did at first), that the game saved fine, when it didn't. So would it be possible for that window to only close with
- ESC key
- precisely clicking the yes/no option

- general: am_overlay is nice when hunting for secrets and having the map onscreen, only the lines are still too distracting for me (I might try some different colors though).
I don't know how popular this feature is, but something like am_overlay_alpha would be great?

- how can I remove the weapon icons from the althud?

- the menus are getting more complex, they would be easier to access quickly with certain important menus like "video/sound options" being colored, or having a more distinct grouping altogether.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Mon Oct 04, 2010 17:17

gravitar wrote:Thanks for the new update. A few points that came to mind:


- when using a high dpi mouse, it's too fast in the menus (a problem in many other ports/older games). Would it be possible to have control over the mouse speed in the menus (i.e. setting a certain % of current sens)?

The mouse cursor is controlled by Windows, so not really.
gravitar wrote: - the dialogue of "overwrite savegame/quicksave over/quit game" closes when just clicking somewhere in the window. In the heat of the battle one might think (I did at first), that the game saved fine, when it didn't. So would it be possible for that window to only close with
- ESC key
- precisely clicking the yes/no option
Have to check.


gravitar wrote: - general: am_overlay is nice when hunting for secrets and having the map onscreen, only the lines are still too distracting for me (I might try some different colors though).
I don't know how popular this feature is, but something like am_overlay_alpha would be great?
Make a suggestion at the ZDoom forums. Here it'll get lost.

gravitar wrote: - the menus are getting more complex, they would be easier to access quickly with certain important menus like "video/sound options" being colored, or having a more distinct grouping altogether.
[/quote]

I think they are fine.

User avatar
Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: GZDoom 1.5.3 released

Post by Gez » Mon Oct 04, 2010 18:29

gravitar wrote:- how can I remove the weapon icons from the althud?
Define empty icons for them in an [wiki]ALTHUDCF[/wiki] lump.

Locked

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest