GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

News about GZDoom.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat May 03, 2014 12:32

A new release is online.

This contains all the bugfixes from the last 8 months and a few minor new features.
Please note: This is the first official release that was built with Visual Studio 2013. Although I have set the project to create an XP compatible binary I have no means to check if that worked. Please report if it doesn't, I'll try to fix it then if necessary.


EDIT: link taken down due to 1.8.6 release which contains some critical changes.
Last edited by Graf Zahl on Thu May 08, 2014 10:01, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4578
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Enjay » Sat May 03, 2014 13:16

Thanks very much for the release. It seems to work just fine on my Win7-64 system but that won't be a surprise. I can't check my XP machine right now but I'll be able to do so later if no one else has reported back by that point.

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 856
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Tiger » Sat May 03, 2014 17:53

Image



Great stuff!
Nicholas "Tiger" Gautier

ntype
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 18:16

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by ntype » Sat May 03, 2014 18:38

I received a "Not a Valid Win32 Application" error message on XP (SP3).

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat May 03, 2014 22:19

Argh. I have to find a way to set this from within CMake then. Changing it in the project manually seems to get reset immediately...

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 856
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Tiger » Sun May 04, 2014 1:36

I apologize for opening my thoughts like this, but why even bother supporting such an ancient and yet no longer a supported Operating System?
Nicholas "Tiger" Gautier

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Graf Zahl » Sun May 04, 2014 8:33

Maybe...

...because it still has a market share of of 30%, probably even more among retro gamers?

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Graf Zahl » Sun May 04, 2014 9:09

Can someone please test this one?

(link moved to first post)
Last edited by Graf Zahl on Sun May 04, 2014 11:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4578
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Enjay » Sun May 04, 2014 10:37

OK, sorry for the delay. I can confirm that I too got this with the first version:

Image

But with the newer version:

Image
(Image resized from 1440x900 for great justice)

It seems to be working just fine. :)

ntype
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 18:16

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by ntype » Sun May 04, 2014 14:15

GZDoom is now ready for XP :cheers:

Image

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 856
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Tiger » Sun May 04, 2014 16:39

Graf Zahl wrote:Maybe...

...because it still has a market share of of 30%, probably even more among retro gamers?
Are you sure that the 30% is not mostly because of some businesses (ATM machines included in the US) and governments (UK, US, Chinese, and the Dutch) that are refusing or simply neglected to move over to a modern OS?
Nicholas "Tiger" Gautier

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Graf Zahl » Mon May 05, 2014 0:52

Whatever. I know for certain that among retro gamers old hardware (and along, old OSs) are a lot more widespread than in the general public.
And since GZDoom doesn't use any post-XP feature I find it rather pointless to drop support for no good reason. It's just a single compiler setting that needs to be changed.

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 856
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Tiger » Mon May 05, 2014 2:54

Graf Zahl wrote: I know for certain that among retro gamers old hardware (and along, old OSs) are a lot more widespread than in the general public.
Fair enough. The reason why I posted the links is merely to outline that some of the market shares are probably skewed to one region.
Graf Zahl wrote:And since GZDoom doesn't use any post-XP feature I find it rather pointless to drop support for no good reason. It's just a single compiler setting that needs to be changed.
I guess I don't see any harm in that.

Graf Zahl wrote:Whatever.
I register this as an attack; keep in mind that I was merely pondering - not challenging you....
Nicholas "Tiger" Gautier

undead003
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 22:09

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by undead003 » Tue May 06, 2014 15:05

If XP compatibility is taken away then I can't be able to play Doom in school at free time without my favorite hardware rendering program.

:D
Last edited by undead003 on Tue May 06, 2014 19:49, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4578
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 1.8.5 released.

Post by Enjay » Tue May 06, 2014 18:09

Any unauthorised EXE is blocked at my school anyway. So, yes, most machines are still XP (though that is slowly changing to 7) but I wouldn't be able to start the gzdoom.exe anyway. Then, if I could, the graphics card in most of the machines would say "nope". Basically, no GZDoom at my school for anyone.

Locked

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest