GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

News about GZDoom.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Thu Feb 25, 2016 16:04

Is there any release-notes somewhere that lists whats changed between each release? :)

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Thu Feb 25, 2016 16:12

Blue Shadow wrote:Graf, 2.1.1 appears to be packed with the wrong version of fmodex.dll file. I got this on startup:

Code: Select all

I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
 Error! You are using an old version of FMOD (4.26.27).
 This program was built for version 4.44.61
FMod Ex Sound init failed. Trying OpenAL.
It should use the same version of the file as the one in 1.9.1.
Seem broken for me too, I can only chose OpenAL ingame. - which breaks my global sounds

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Thu Feb 25, 2016 17:10

Blue Shadow wrote:Graf, 2.1.1 appears to be packed with the wrong version of fmodex.dll file. I got this on startup:

Code: Select all

I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
 Error! You are using an old version of FMOD (4.26.27).
 This program was built for version 4.44.61
FMod Ex Sound init failed. Trying OpenAL.
It should use the same version of the file as the one in 1.9.1.
I have the same problem here, forced onto OpenAL

User avatar
Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Gez » Thu Feb 25, 2016 18:22

Camaxide wrote:Is there any release-notes somewhere that lists whats changed between each release? :)
Since those releases are merely to keep up with ZDoom releases, this list should be sufficient. (A few of these bugs, notably the Heretic time bomb one, were already fixed in GZDoom 2.1.0/1.9.0, though.)

There's a big, detailed version history here, but it's for ZDoom. GZDoom doesn't have an equivalent detailed list.

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Thu Feb 25, 2016 23:05

Ah thanks, yes since the GzDoom versions are based on the zdoom versions that makes sense, and is exactly what I wanted :)
Sorry about the 'double post' earlier - I didn't think the first one went through.

Cubly

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Cubly » Fri Feb 26, 2016 2:25

Gez wrote:I'm pretty sure XInput and DirectInput are already supported; Randi did a lot of work on this around v2.4 of ZDoom so it's been in for a while. Look into the joystick options menu.
Yeah I thought that would be the case, my controller works fine with it, I just can't get it to work with Steam Link. No worries though, I'm still grateful people have made this, GZDoom actually makes the games playable!

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by _mental_ » Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:59

Code: Select all

git push origin g1.9.1
git push origin g2.1.1
:!: plz :!:

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:56

I thought I already did. Do you know a tool with which I can check remote tags?

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by _mental_ » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:59

Graf Zahl wrote:I thought I already did. Do you know a tool with which I can check remote tags?
https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/tags

The tags are here, thanks.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:17

... and look what's there... ;)

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:37

Any idea Graf on the fmodex? I can't make it work in the current build. (2.1.1) x64

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7122
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:55

I already updated the 2.1.1 package. The current ones all work for me.

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Fri Feb 26, 2016 16:55

Graf Zahl wrote:I already updated the 2.1.1 package. The current ones all work for me.
Graf Zahl wrote:I already updated the 2.1.1 package. The current ones all work for me.
Yeah, the Fxmod starts up now - it seem I get small lags in the music playback (once every 5'th second or so) on both the 32 and 64bit version.
Is there any settings that might solve this?
I don't get this lag on 2.1.0
Also - the music is flac - and I've tried all the various values of buffer size and count with no change

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by _mental_ » Fri Feb 26, 2016 17:19

Camaxide wrote:it seem I get small lags in the music playback (once every 5'th second or so) on both the 32 and 64bit version.
Can you check this using OpenAL sound backend? I am afraid that FMODEx streaming buffer size still isn't sufficient. Unfortunately for end users there is no way to control it.

Camaxide
Architect, Gamer and Level Designer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:31

Re: GZDoom 2.1.1 and 1.9.1 released

Post by Camaxide » Fri Feb 26, 2016 18:21

The OpenAL dont work well at all for my mod - all ambient sounds play full volume all over the map with OpenAL on.
FmodEx works perfectly in zdoom and gzdoom prior to last version though - has it changed for this version? if so is there a way to make it use the older version of fmodex as they didnt have the buffer problem.
I also had this buffer-problem with the new version of gzdoom before (not the official releases but the extra ones)

Post Reply

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest