GZDoom 2.3.2 released

News about GZDoom.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
theleo_ua
http://theleo-ua.livejournal.com
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 17:24
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 2.3.2 released

Post by theleo_ua » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:03

_mental_ wrote:
Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:51
Or do you want to load just everything?
Yes, I want to load just everything (ideally even when loading a savegame). Of course most "ideal" wish is to load even 3D models, but as Graf said, 3D models is low priority

Imho, for "loading just everything" better to add options to ingame menu (for example like current "precache gl textures" display option). This way we will have at least 2 benefits:
1) You can turn on/off this during a game without restarting gzdoom and/or modifying the mod
2) Mod will be playable for people with low amount of RAM (they just turn those precaches off)
_mental_ wrote:
Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:51
You should always do this. It's better to have duplicate bug report than to do not have one.
Ok. Here is the bug report with some thoughts and suggestions: https://mantis.zdoom.org/view.php?id=454
Graf Zahl wrote:
Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:46
Precaches are done on map load. For each savegame load, first the map needs to be loaded, so it should be precached as normal.
Regarding models, that's not going to be a quick fix, because the models exist somewhere outside the system. Refactoring the model subsystem to be better integrated is on the to-do list but not with the highest priority.
Thanks, now it's clear!
Nothing smells better than a dead Governor in the morning (c) http://www.rpgcodex.net/phpBB/viewtopic ... 026#808026

_mental_
Developer
Developer
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 13:36

Re: GZDoom 2.3.2 released

Post by _mental_ » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:58

Precache GL textures option doesn't precache everything but only used textures and sprites.
For example, if you spawn an actor during gameplay and none of its class exists on the map initially, sprites for this actor won't be precached (without explicit precache entry in MAPINFO of course).
In other words, Precache GL textures won't help if you spawn most of actors dynamically.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 2.3.2 released

Post by Graf Zahl » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:32

It should also be noted that precaching everything can quickly exhaust video memory on low end hardware. I have seen mods crash because they demanded too many resources at the same time.

User avatar
theleo_ua
http://theleo-ua.livejournal.com
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 17:24
Contact:

Re: GZDoom 2.3.2 released

Post by theleo_ua » Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:30

My current problem is lags because of 3dmodels on Hi-end hardware. Example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY-xLSuhuWk (watch from start, and see the lag before door to minotaur is opened (at 0:01) ). This lag is because of supermap, located behind minotaur, is 3D model. My ACS workaround (see below) fixes this lag, but when savegame is loaded, it will lag (even with my workaround)

Taking into account what you said above I see that best solution for me is:
1) Make workaround with ACS script enter: spawnforced "actor with 3dmodel" on the first tic of each map (and thing_remove it on the second tic)
2) Wait for future fixes, when precacheactors will cache 3d models
3) Make several versions of the mod (one for low-end hardware, and one without lags)
Nothing smells better than a dead Governor in the morning (c) http://www.rpgcodex.net/phpBB/viewtopic ... 026#808026

Locked

Return to “News”