Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Bugs that have been resolved.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Locked
ChickenLegz
796 sectors with light level 0
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 15:39

Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Post by ChickenLegz » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:49

This is what it looks like in gl_lightmode=2 "DOOM" in a sector with AS: 50 transfer light.
screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg (123.53 KiB) Viewed 230 times
In Legacy and Software there's no problem with this,
but on Standard, Bright, Dark and Doom sprites keeps dark even in the bright region.
Is it a bug or a limitation?
demo.wad
(2.54 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat Jun 11, 2016 12:17

Looks correct for me in my latest build. What version is this? And what graphics card?

ChickenLegz
796 sectors with light level 0
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 15:39

Re: Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Post by ChickenLegz » Sat Jun 11, 2016 13:30

It's GZDoom v2.1.1.0, but I'm not sure which build it is.
I think the trouble lies at gl_distfog parameter.

When using sector lighting mode at Software:
scr1.jpg
scr1.jpg (141.34 KiB) Viewed 224 times
When using sector lighting mode at Standard
with gl_distfog at 400:
scr2.jpg
scr2.jpg (147.05 KiB) Viewed 224 times
When using sector lighting mode at Standard
with gl_distfog at 70:
scr3.jpg
scr3.jpg (172.75 KiB) Viewed 224 times
If you want the Graphics details:
Spoiler:

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat Jun 11, 2016 18:53

Definitely fog related. Why are you 400? It's rather high...

ChickenLegz
796 sectors with light level 0
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 15:39

Re: Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Post by ChickenLegz » Sat Jun 11, 2016 21:01

Yes, I know, but I'm aiming for dark and creepy rooms (about 64 brightness level) where you see a monster once about 256 map units away, not 1024.
Anyhow, Is this a bug or just a limitation?

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Transfer Light Sprite Glitch

Post by Graf Zahl » Sat Jun 11, 2016 21:29

Bug. The sprite splitting code only sets fog once, not per light slice as it should.

Locked

Return to “Closed Bugs”