My new rig...

Anything that doesn't fit into other forums.
User avatar
Soultaker
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:26
Location: Capping some zombies Gangsta Style.
Contact:

My new rig...

Post by Soultaker » Mon Oct 24, 2005 20:48

I just ordered my new computer which will arrive by November 2nd. The specs for it are listed below. Now I can play Edge 1.29RC#3 and GZDooM in all their glory. I am so looking forward to enjoying Cold Hard Cash.

Case ( [New !!!] Antec P180 ATX Mid-Tower Case w/420W Power Supply )
Power Supply ( Ultra X-Finity 600W ATX PS w/2 80mm Fans - Blue w/LED Lights (ULT31312) )
Processor ( [939-pin] AMD® Athlon-64 X2 3800+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology )
Free Software/Game ( [NEW !!!] Free Game --- Bet On Soldier: Blood Sport Game with purchase of AMD-64 FX, X2 based systems or Mobile Turion notebook )
Motherboard ( Asus A8N-SLI Premium nForce4-SLI Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Dual Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE 1394, Dual PCI-E MB )
Memory ( 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory Module Corsair XMS w/ Heat Spreader )
Video Card ( [PCI-Express 16x] Nvidia Geforce 7800GT 256MB w/DVI + TV Out Video )
Hard Drive ( 80 GB HARD DRIVE [S-ATA] Seagate 80 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Hard Drive )
CD/DVD Drive ( 16x DVD-ROM Drive - Sony Silver )
Monitor ( LCD Monitor ViewSonic 17" VA712B TFT LCD Monitor [Response:8 ms; Color: Black] )
Flash Media Reader/Writer ( 12-In-1 Internal Flash Media Card Reader/Writer Silver )
Operation System ( MS Windows XP Professional Edition w/Service Pack-2 )
Case Round Cable ( Professional wiring for all cables inside the system tower )
Power Protection ( Opti-UPS VS575C Battery Back-up UPS )

The HavoX
the
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 23:05
Location: Republic, MO

Post by The HavoX » Mon Oct 24, 2005 21:03

this list of components looks like they were taken from the iBUYPOWER system configurator

amirite?

User avatar
Soultaker
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:26
Location: Capping some zombies Gangsta Style.
Contact:

Post by Soultaker » Mon Oct 24, 2005 21:17

Yep. 2K for the entire rig. A better deal than the more expensive places.

User avatar
Bashe
Segregated bullet holes!
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 21:00
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Contact:

Post by Bashe » Mon Oct 24, 2005 21:44

All I want is the Radeon x850 and I'm good. My system is actually fine now but I just need some more graphics power for more modern games.

User avatar
ellmo
not the Buddha man
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 13:30
Location: Poland, Poznan

Post by ellmo » Tue Oct 25, 2005 19:29

I got lost years ago when it comes to video cards.
Is the ATI x series an equivalent to NVidia GT ?

User avatar
Soultaker
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:26
Location: Capping some zombies Gangsta Style.
Contact:

Post by Soultaker » Tue Oct 25, 2005 19:34

I am in the same boat. I went Nvidia because ATI has lost their heads trying to compete with Nvidia. I now understand the Nvidia Series 10X better than the Radeon Series. My advice is if you wish to keep your sanity go Nvidia. The way they number and letter their cards actualy make it easier to know which is the most powerful or not. ATI on the other hand not only screwed up the number\letter technique but their cards suck at cross compatibility with games like DooM 3 and Call of Duty.

User avatar
ellmo
not the Buddha man
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 13:30
Location: Poland, Poznan

Post by ellmo » Wed Oct 26, 2005 22:37

Soultaker wrote:(...)their cards suck at cross compatibility with games like DooM 3 and Call of Duty.
didn't really notice. But I haven't played it on other cards...

User avatar
Bashe
Segregated bullet holes!
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 21:00
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Contact:

Post by Bashe » Thu Oct 27, 2005 0:18

Well, what is an NVidia card that will eat Doom 3 (and other games) for breakfast? If you say the Radeon is not good, I don't want to get it...

Nuxius
this post is acme approved
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 9:15
Location: Texas

Post by Nuxius » Thu Oct 27, 2005 5:14

Open GL:
nVidia > ATI

DirectX:
ATI > nVidia

With that said, nVidia has taken steps to have their newer cards work better/faster with DirectX games, whereas ATI still stinks at OpenGL games.

Anyway, if you want to know more about Doom 3's performance on ATI and nVidia cards, here goes a link:

The Official DOOM 3 [H]ardware Guide (from HardOCP):
http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQ0

User avatar
Soultaker
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:26
Location: Capping some zombies Gangsta Style.
Contact:

Post by Soultaker » Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:09

Update: Okay so iBuypower ran a little late on building the rig but so what. I am not mad. The computer will probably arrive Monday the 7th. Just made it's way to the FedEx Facility in Phoenix, AZ which is about 5 hours away from Lake Havasu City, AZ. I am pissed though since the monitor and UPS are still in LA.

User avatar
BioHazard
Needs more free time.
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:02
Location: Middle of California where there is no air.
Contact:

Post by BioHazard » Thu Nov 10, 2005 13:10

Oh come on, I had to wait 2 weeks to get my dual 21-inchers and they came from 200 miles away!


Note to anyone who thinks it's cheap to ship 2 21-inch monitors: IT'S NOT!

User avatar
Soultaker
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:26
Location: Capping some zombies Gangsta Style.
Contact:

Post by Soultaker » Thu Nov 10, 2005 17:57

Heh. I got everything on the 8th. A day earlier than the expected arrival date. Oh yea for anyone who is wondering CoD 2 looks sweet as well as Half Life 2 Demo. Must find out why my full copy of HL2 will not work though. Damned Disc 1 screws up the entire computer until I take it out.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Thu Nov 10, 2005 19:17

If HL2 is already registered through Steam, you can try downloading it instead. It takes longer (took about an hour for my system, not counting HL2 Deathmatch and CS Source) but you do get to play the game again.

User avatar
Soultaker
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 8:26
Location: Capping some zombies Gangsta Style.
Contact:

Post by Soultaker » Thu Nov 10, 2005 19:35

Sadly it is the disc itself that is screwed up. I tried registering it through Steam but it just screwed up Steam as well.

User avatar
ellmo
not the Buddha man
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 13:30
Location: Poland, Poznan

Post by ellmo » Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:47

Soultaker wrote:Sadly it is the disc itself that is screwed up. I tried registering it through Steam but it just screwed up Steam as well.
You are - of course - aware, that Steam does not keep registry files on your disk, but sends them to Steam/Valve. So reinstalling Steam and HL2 on your computer (no matter from what source - warez *cough*, friend's copy), and using it with your account you have registered shouldn't stand a problem.

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”