02/02/2007 - "Where the bloody Hell have you been?"

News in the life of TheDarkArchon.

Moderator: TheDarkArchon

Locked
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

02/02/2007 - "Where the bloody Hell have you been?"

Post by TheDarkArchon » Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:35

Yes, I am still active, though those on the various Doom forums, as well as the Court Records froums, will already know this. Anyway, I just ordered myself a new PC. Costing me just over £1250 including delivery, it has a Core 2 Duo E6600, 2Gb of 533MHz DDR2 RAM, a 320 Gb Hard Disk and a GeForce 8800 GTS with 640Mb of RAM.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:51

Damn...you officially outclass my system. Mine's a Pentium D 3.0 GHz with 2 GB of RAM (unknown speed and interface), 160 GB hard drive and two GeForce 7900 GT's with a total of 512 MB of memory.

User avatar
grubber
The Birthgiver
Site Founder
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 18:57
Location: Czech Republic, Zlin
Contact:

Post by grubber » Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:51

You both officially outclass all of my computers :P I've got:
  1. My PC - Celeron 900 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 250+20 GB HDD, Radeon 9200 with 128 MB RAM
  2. Gateway/server - Pentium 166 MHz, 32 MB RAM, 1.5 GB HDD
  3. Multimedia player - AMD K6-2 450 MHz, 64 MB RAM, 1 GB HDD
  4. "Studio" PC - Pentium 150 MHz, 32 MB RAM, 5 GB HDD
All of these are running Linux and serve their purpose just fine.

User avatar
Snarboo
was a zombie
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 2:35
Location: space station base of the UAC

Post by Snarboo » Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:39

Yeah, OSs based on Linux are usually less system intensive than Windows. Which is a good thing, IMO. :)

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Sun Feb 11, 2007 0:18

About OS-itude, it's coming with Vista, though I'll probabally end up dual-booting with Linux like I do with my laptop (May not use SuSE this time round, though *eyes up Kubuntu*)

Anyway, I haven't actually received it yet: I've just ordered it, due the 2nd of March (20 days at time of posting)

User avatar
Bouncy
Overlord of bouncies!
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 8:29
Location: Somewhere in an arctic region. wait. no. just Michigan.

Post by Bouncy » Sun Feb 11, 2007 4:48

Pentium 4 3.2 ghz
4 GB ram
2 400 GB hard drives
Radeon X1900 XTX 512 MB.

hoorah. :)

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Graf Zahl » Mon Feb 12, 2007 14:35

Grubber wrote:You both officially outclass all of my computers :P I've got:
  1. My PC - Celeron 900 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 250+20 GB HDD, Radeon 9200 with 128 MB RAM

Ugh... That'd be too slow for me - even when playing Doom. :mrgreen:

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Mon Feb 12, 2007 17:53

Bouncy wrote:Pentium 4 3.2 ghz
4 GB ram
2 400 GB hard drives
Radeon X1900 XTX 512 MB.

hoorah. :)
Hoorah for one of the most power inefficent processors ever made? :P (Is it the current gen numbered ones or the old speed named ones?)

User avatar
Bouncy
Overlord of bouncies!
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 8:29
Location: Somewhere in an arctic region. wait. no. just Michigan.

Post by Bouncy » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:34

TheDarkArchon wrote:
Bouncy wrote:Pentium 4 3.2 ghz
4 GB ram
2 400 GB hard drives
Radeon X1900 XTX 512 MB.

hoorah. :)
Hoorah for one of the most power inefficent processors ever made? :P (Is it the current gen numbered ones or the old speed named ones?)
absolutely no idea. :sniped:

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Fri Mar 02, 2007 18:27

Update: I'm having to wait another week since the system builders screwed up, which essentially sways me towards building my own next time.

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Fri Mar 09, 2007 23:44

Update 2: It's here and it's even faster than I was expecting. Oblivion + all details set to max or on (bar HDR because it means losing AA and I'm sensitive to jagged edges) + 1280x1024 + a smooth 60hz framerate is awesome.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:35

GAAAAH DAMN YOU! I can't even run it at a sane framerate at 1280x1024 with no HDR, AA, or ansitropic(sp?) filtering. I can maintain a steady 30 FPS running 1280x800 on my widescreen TV, though.

User avatar
grubber
The Birthgiver
Site Founder
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 18:57
Location: Czech Republic, Zlin
Contact:

Post by grubber » Tue Mar 13, 2007 19:39

Anisotropic. Opposite of isotropic.

User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Damn right I'm mighty.
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:58
Location: What's that fucking smell
Contact:

Post by TheDarkArchon » Sat Mar 24, 2007 13:29

Minor update: This post is coming to you courtesy of my new computer :D

Locked

Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest