Custom HUDs Help

Need help with your project? Ask here.
Whoo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 23:28

Custom HUDs Help

Post by Whoo » Sun Feb 03, 2008 23:39

Hey. I'm new to the forums, and basiclly GZdoom editing. So I'm asking what steps there are to get started making a advanced HUD.

User avatar
Fabio914
Yellow Cacodemon!
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 19:03
Location: São Paulo , SP , Brazil
Contact:

Re: Custom HUDs Help

Post by Fabio914 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 0:03

Whoo wrote:Hey. I'm new to the forums, and basiclly GZdoom editing. So I'm asking what steps there are to get started making a advanced HUD.
You have two options:

Do your HUD with ACS (not recommended for beginners || click here to learn more about it) or do your HUD with SBARINFO lump (it might be easier for you ||click here to learn more about it)

And one more thing:

When you ask for "advanced hud" you say that´s you´re looking for a new STBAR or a entirely new hud (like this one below)?

Image

Whoo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 23:28

Post by Whoo » Mon Mar 17, 2008 0:51

Yeppers, I was hoping to do it something like your Doom3 wad, or the HUD from the Doom Alpha.

Whoo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 23:28

Post by Whoo » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:38

Here's the HUD I want to do.
Attachments
HUD.PNG
HUD.PNG (11.2 KiB) Viewed 1228 times

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:51

Would you be willing to make do with the variant I cooked up here? It's not 100% accurate to the Doom Alpha hud (I took some artistic liberties to maximize the amount of useful information) but it works...

Whoo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 23:28

Post by Whoo » Mon Mar 17, 2008 18:48

Yes that HUD is excellent, but Is there a way to make it work in skulltag?

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Wed Mar 19, 2008 0:55

Skulltag is so woefully out of date (to my knowledge) that I don't feel like rewriting the HUD to work with it and then have it be broken for current ZDoom/GZDoom versions.

Whoo
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 23:28

Post by Whoo » Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:34

:shock: Skulltag just released Skulltag97D with GZdoom & Zdoom builds. It also has GZdoom features.

User avatar
wildweasel
Member, DRD Team
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 2132
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 22:00
Location: the Admincave!
Contact:

Post by wildweasel » Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:56

Whoo wrote::shock: Skulltag just released Skulltag97D with GZdoom & Zdoom builds. It also has GZdoom features.
Well, the RC10 build that I just downloaded from the server appears to have the same problem with SBARINFO syntax that previous G/ZDooms had. Until they update to a more recent ZDoom codebase, the alpha hud will not work as intended, and I do not wish to tinker with it at the moment.

Post Reply

Return to “Editing Help”