Page 1 of 1

model def aid

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:04
by sykesccorp
ok ive got custom frames and its named by a b c so on so fourth but one of the animations has got 50 frames in it so is it possible to go from x y z to ab ac ad ae so on so fourth is that possible need to know as soon as possible

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:53
by Enjay
The furthest you can go is the extra characters that are used in actors such as the achvile, Hexen Cleric and Strife Robot ( ie [ / ] )

There is nothing to stop you using different sprite names though eg

SPR1 ABCDEFGH...
SPR2 ABCDEFGH...

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 20:43
by sykesccorp
sweet thanks

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 21:45
by Enjay
My bad, the extra characters are "[", "\" and "]" not "[", "/" and "]" but the additional sprite thing is correct.

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:24
by sykesccorp
ok thanks
but i still need a little help with this im not relly good at making new monsters and stuff is this correct with model def and the decorate?
btw its the doom3 archvile

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 16:32
by Enjay
The actor has less frames defined than the model.

eg
DECORATE

Code: Select all

See:
		MOVE ABCDE 3 A_Chase
		loop
But your MODELDEF has far more frames

Code: Select all

       FrameIndex MOVE A 0 1 //Chase
	FrameIndex MOVE B 0 2
	FrameIndex MOVE C 0 3
	FrameIndex MOVE D 0 4
	FrameIndex MOVE E 0 5
	FrameIndex MOVE F 0 6
	FrameIndex MOVE G 0 7
	FrameIndex MOVE H 0 8
	FrameIndex MOVE I 0 9
	FrameIndex MOVE J 0 10
	FrameIndex MOVE K 0 11
	FrameIndex MOVE L 0 12
	FrameIndex MOVE M 0 13
	FrameIndex MOVE N 0 14
	FrameIndex MOVE O 0 15
	FrameIndex MOVE P 0 16
	FrameIndex MOVE Q 0 17
	FrameIndex MOVE R 0 18
	FrameIndex MOVE S 0 19
	FrameIndex MOVE T 0 20
	FrameIndex MOVE U 0 21
	FrameIndex MOVE V 0 22
	FrameIndex MOVE W 0 23
	FrameIndex MOVE X 0 24
	FrameIndex MOVE Y 0 25
	FrameIndex MOVE Z 0 26
	FrameIndex MOVE AB 0 27
	FrameIndex MOVE AC 0 28
	FrameIndex MOVE AD 0 29
Your see state would have to look something like this

Code: Select all

See:
		MOVE ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ[\] 3 A_Chase
		loop
And the last 3 frames in modeldef are illegal names.

Code: Select all

       FrameIndex MOVE AB 0 27
	FrameIndex MOVE AC 0 28
	FrameIndex MOVE AD 0 29
They should be something like

Code: Select all

       FrameIndex MOVE [ 0 27
	FrameIndex MOVE \ 0 28
	FrameIndex MOVE ] 0 29
Also, I think you will have to provide actual sprites in the WAD to make this work - so why not use existing sprites? They will never be seen anyway. eg

Code: Select all

See:
		POSS ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTU 3 A_Chase
		SPOS ABCDEFGH 3 A_Chase
		loop

Code: Select all

      FrameIndex POSS A 0 1 //Chase
	FrameIndex POSS B 0 2
	FrameIndex POSS C 0 3
	FrameIndex POSS D 0 4
	FrameIndex POSS E 0 5
	FrameIndex POSS F 0 6
	FrameIndex POSS G 0 7
	FrameIndex POSS H 0 8
	FrameIndex POSS I 0 9
	FrameIndex POSS J 0 10
	FrameIndex POSS K 0 11
	FrameIndex POSS L 0 12
	FrameIndex POSS M 0 13
	FrameIndex POSS N 0 14
	FrameIndex POSS O 0 15
	FrameIndex POSS P 0 16
	FrameIndex POSS Q 0 17
	FrameIndex POSS R 0 18
	FrameIndex POSS S 0 19
	FrameIndex POSS T 0 20
	FrameIndex POSS U 0 21
	FrameIndex SPOS A 0 22
	FrameIndex SPOS B 0 23
	FrameIndex SPOS C 0 24
	FrameIndex SPOS D 0 25
	FrameIndex SPOS E 0 26
	FrameIndex SPOS F 0 27
	FrameIndex SPOS G 0 28
	FrameIndex SPOS H 0 29

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:07
by deded007
Wrong! you CAN use nonexistant sprites!