Multitexturing

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Hellraiser777

Multitexturing

Post by Hellraiser777 »

Yes, I said multitexturing.

Graf already has shaders within DooM; in forms of Dynamic lighting, warping floors, ect, ect. But how about some multitexturing shaders?

Multitexturing is basicly like.. bumpmapping, specular textures (shine), shader effects. ZDooMGL was working on this, and IIRC, GZDooM uses ZDooMGL's rendering engine, just heavily modified. So can this be done or not?

This could really enhance the DooM engine even further. And give a sense of depth which isn't really there. Also can be turnt on / off via OpenGL options menu.. and possibly open up a whole new mapping community by it self.

.. and no, I'm not a coder, I just know some things.
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer

Re: Multitexturing

Post by Graf Zahl »

Hellraiser777 wrote: , and IIRC, GZDooM uses ZDooMGL's rendering engine, just heavily modified.

No, it doesn't. The engines are completely different.

Regarding this suggestion, I have to clearly state that I am not a graphics programmer. I can manage the simple purely technical stuff but when it comes to advanced graphics handling I'm sorry but I definitely need some help. I neither have the time nor desire to learn this stuff.

The shader implementation should be able to handle this though with a little extensions.
Tormentor667
Stronghold Team

Post by Tormentor667 »

Now we need just a volunteer ;)
Nash
Developer
Developer

Post by Nash »

I'm willing to even pay the programmer who steps in and helps Graf Zahl. I'm dead serious about this. GZDoom is my most favourite engine ever, even if there are plenty of better options out there. Unreal Engine 3, Darkplaces, etc -- my computer has the capabilities to run and mod for those in full spec, but I keep coming back to GZDoom because it's just so awesome and easy to realize my ideas in it.

Heh I got carried away. Sorry about that. But I really mean everything I said above though.