model def aid

Need help with your project? Ask here.
User avatar
sykesccorp
"i will finaly reply in a random topic about porn"
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:38
Location: over where it i is

model def aid

Post by sykesccorp » Tue Mar 18, 2008 8:04

ok ive got custom frames and its named by a b c so on so fourth but one of the animations has got 50 frames in it so is it possible to go from x y z to ab ac ad ae so on so fourth is that possible need to know as soon as possible

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4622
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:53

The furthest you can go is the extra characters that are used in actors such as the achvile, Hexen Cleric and Strife Robot ( ie [ / ] )

There is nothing to stop you using different sprite names though eg

SPR1 ABCDEFGH...
SPR2 ABCDEFGH...

User avatar
sykesccorp
"i will finaly reply in a random topic about porn"
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:38
Location: over where it i is

Post by sykesccorp » Tue Mar 18, 2008 20:43

sweet thanks

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4622
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Tue Mar 18, 2008 21:45

My bad, the extra characters are "[", "\" and "]" not "[", "/" and "]" but the additional sprite thing is correct.

User avatar
sykesccorp
"i will finaly reply in a random topic about porn"
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:38
Location: over where it i is

Post by sykesccorp » Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:24

ok thanks
but i still need a little help with this im not relly good at making new monsters and stuff is this correct with model def and the decorate?
btw its the doom3 archvile
Attachments
the delta complex.rar
DECORATE and MODELDEF
(1.15 KiB) Downloaded 63 times

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4622
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Enjay » Fri Mar 21, 2008 16:32

The actor has less frames defined than the model.

eg
DECORATE

Code: Select all

See:
		MOVE ABCDE 3 A_Chase
		loop
But your MODELDEF has far more frames

Code: Select all

       FrameIndex MOVE A 0 1 //Chase
	FrameIndex MOVE B 0 2
	FrameIndex MOVE C 0 3
	FrameIndex MOVE D 0 4
	FrameIndex MOVE E 0 5
	FrameIndex MOVE F 0 6
	FrameIndex MOVE G 0 7
	FrameIndex MOVE H 0 8
	FrameIndex MOVE I 0 9
	FrameIndex MOVE J 0 10
	FrameIndex MOVE K 0 11
	FrameIndex MOVE L 0 12
	FrameIndex MOVE M 0 13
	FrameIndex MOVE N 0 14
	FrameIndex MOVE O 0 15
	FrameIndex MOVE P 0 16
	FrameIndex MOVE Q 0 17
	FrameIndex MOVE R 0 18
	FrameIndex MOVE S 0 19
	FrameIndex MOVE T 0 20
	FrameIndex MOVE U 0 21
	FrameIndex MOVE V 0 22
	FrameIndex MOVE W 0 23
	FrameIndex MOVE X 0 24
	FrameIndex MOVE Y 0 25
	FrameIndex MOVE Z 0 26
	FrameIndex MOVE AB 0 27
	FrameIndex MOVE AC 0 28
	FrameIndex MOVE AD 0 29
Your see state would have to look something like this

Code: Select all

See:
		MOVE ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ[\] 3 A_Chase
		loop
And the last 3 frames in modeldef are illegal names.

Code: Select all

       FrameIndex MOVE AB 0 27
	FrameIndex MOVE AC 0 28
	FrameIndex MOVE AD 0 29
They should be something like

Code: Select all

       FrameIndex MOVE [ 0 27
	FrameIndex MOVE \ 0 28
	FrameIndex MOVE ] 0 29
Also, I think you will have to provide actual sprites in the WAD to make this work - so why not use existing sprites? They will never be seen anyway. eg

Code: Select all

See:
		POSS ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTU 3 A_Chase
		SPOS ABCDEFGH 3 A_Chase
		loop

Code: Select all

      FrameIndex POSS A 0 1 //Chase
	FrameIndex POSS B 0 2
	FrameIndex POSS C 0 3
	FrameIndex POSS D 0 4
	FrameIndex POSS E 0 5
	FrameIndex POSS F 0 6
	FrameIndex POSS G 0 7
	FrameIndex POSS H 0 8
	FrameIndex POSS I 0 9
	FrameIndex POSS J 0 10
	FrameIndex POSS K 0 11
	FrameIndex POSS L 0 12
	FrameIndex POSS M 0 13
	FrameIndex POSS N 0 14
	FrameIndex POSS O 0 15
	FrameIndex POSS P 0 16
	FrameIndex POSS Q 0 17
	FrameIndex POSS R 0 18
	FrameIndex POSS S 0 19
	FrameIndex POSS T 0 20
	FrameIndex POSS U 0 21
	FrameIndex SPOS A 0 22
	FrameIndex SPOS B 0 23
	FrameIndex SPOS C 0 24
	FrameIndex SPOS D 0 25
	FrameIndex SPOS E 0 26
	FrameIndex SPOS F 0 27
	FrameIndex SPOS G 0 28
	FrameIndex SPOS H 0 29

User avatar
deded007
I see all.
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:08
Location: Union AeroSpace Corp. Earth

Post by deded007 » Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:07

Wrong! you CAN use nonexistant sprites!

Post Reply

Return to “Editing Help”