Vista *groan*

Anything that doesn't fit into other forums.
User avatar
Pluck101
C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER!!!
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 14:43
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Contact:

Vista *groan*

Post by Pluck101 » Wed Jun 24, 2009 3:49

I cant seem to get XWE (Extendable Wad Editor) to work (efficiently that is, it runs but wont do anything else) on my Vista PC... when i start it up two error messages show up: [Failed to create key wad_auto_file\DefaultIcon] and then it starts up then says [List index out of bounds (0)]... When i try and open a .wad it says [List index out of bounds (3)]... After i press ok it just sits there loading...forever, Really i let it sit in the loading position for several hours and nothing showed up...

Secondly!

Doombuilder 1 is also being quite the bother... I have been using Doombuilder 2 (only because it actually works on Vista)for about a month now and even thought it looks all nice and shiny and whatnot, all that really happened was: Doombuilder 1 went on a diet and got a coat of gloss paint thrown onto it...DB2 only looks a bit more eye-catching and visually pleasing, thats all... When i say Doombuilder 1 went on a diet i mean that Doombuilder 2 has a (noticeable) amount of very useful features (like special sector tags) missing that were in the original! Now to stop with my rant and get back on track with what i wanted to say. Doombuilder 1 (the one we all know and love,mind you) doesnt work on vista! At first it was saying an error message that went something like this: Run-time error '53' Msvbvm50.dll was not found. So i went out on an adventure on the interwebs and downloaded this dll file. After starting DB1 (by dragging the dll file to my DB1 folder and then dragging in onto DB1) i had to edit my settings in DB1 because the settings dont get saved, so i have to start DB1 without the dll file (because starting with the dll file doesnt let me do anything, it blocks the rest of the page until i choose my settings for my map, but i cant choose my settings for the map because i havent configured them yet). So im in DB1 without the dll file and i configure all my settings, afterwards i exit, but DB1 cant exit correctly because im not using the dll file! So it loses all of my settings. So its like an endless loop of torture.

any help? please :cry:
Your future has become.... FORSAKEN!

User avatar
InsanityBringer
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 22:59

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by InsanityBringer » Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:36

Er, you don't need to drag and drop a DLL file on an application to make it be able to use it. If the file is found in the current folder or within the PATH it will link to it automatically.

And the XWE problem is fixed easy: Run it as a admin always, or (perferred) edit XWE.INI and set NoRegistry to 1.

User avatar
Pluck101
C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER!!!
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 14:43
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Pluck101 » Wed Jun 24, 2009 16:06

Alright thanks dude, i'll try that right now. I'll tell you how it goes when i get to it.
Your future has become.... FORSAKEN!

User avatar
Pluck101
C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER!!!
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 14:43
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Pluck101 » Wed Jun 24, 2009 16:09

Holy Shiz! It worked (XWE, that is)! Thanks man!
Your future has become.... FORSAKEN!

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4625
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Enjay » Wed Jun 24, 2009 17:28

Curious. I didn't have to do anything special with XWE. I just put it on my HD and ran it. It worked. (Vista Home Premium 64.)

Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3623
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Rachael » Wed Jun 24, 2009 19:52

You can also turn off UAC in Vista. It will solve a loads of Vista problems you never even knew it solved. It's in the User Accounts control panel.
Spoiler: Zen Sarcasm

Firebrand
Korax Team Member
Dev Builds Team
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 21:00
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Firebrand » Tue Aug 11, 2009 22:12

Definitely turn of UAC, it removes the most annoying feature of Vista :bfg: .
I'm the ruler of the Fire Power.....

dark-slayer-201
Steam - ds201
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 14:31
Location: South Australia. Adelaide's outdoor mall has 2 big balls of steel!

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by dark-slayer-201 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:34

Firebrand wrote:Definitely turn of UAC, it removes the most annoying feature of Vista :bfg: .
which IMO should be vista.
Image
Hello Username

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 12, 2009 22:07

Vista's UAC is a perfect example of a good idea gone bad because it wasn't thought through.

User avatar
Pluck101
C-C-C-C-COMBO BREAKER!!!
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 14:43
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Pluck101 » Wed Aug 12, 2009 22:13

Umm where exactly do i disable this UAC thing? :lol: i think i need directions
Image
Your future has become.... FORSAKEN!

Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Gez » Wed Aug 12, 2009 22:23

User Accounts.


That said, if you follow some simple guidelines (such as "never install any game you want to mod within C:\Program Files"), you can avoid most of the annoyances from UAC.

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4625
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Enjay » Wed Aug 12, 2009 23:54

The UAC hasn't caused me a single problem. Of course, I disabled it within minutes of starting Vista for the first time. :biggrin:

Remmirath
"Ikorose..."
DRD Team Admin (Inactive)
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 19:43
Location: Somewhere...
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Remmirath » Thu Aug 13, 2009 12:02

UAC shows how Betruger is really evil. [/oldjoke] :biggrin:
SoulPriestess wrote:Good job, Morpheus! You are teh awesum!

Firebrand
Korax Team Member
Dev Builds Team
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 21:00
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Firebrand » Thu Aug 13, 2009 14:28

I think that windows vista has problems, but it's not that bad (at least after installing SP1), it has became more stable IMO, the compatibility issues still exist thought, but they have reduced considerable compared to the past. It has a long way to go, but it might never reach XP in any way (the same could be said of Windows 7 too).
I'm the ruler of the Fire Power.....

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4625
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Vista *groan*

Post by Enjay » Thu Aug 13, 2009 14:43

My initial frustration with Vista has subsided too. But, yes, it still has problems even after SP2. The silly "predict which type of folder you are using and apply changes then randomly forget folder view settings" is one, but there is a registry work around for it.

Occasionally going back to the default screen resolution is another common issue that, again, there is a tweak for.

One of my beefs is the removal of the hardware abstraction layer which thereby EAX effects in a significant number of games that I play unusable. This time, Creative's "Alchemy" program takes care of it and my machine is fast enough to not have some of the speed issues that some people have reported with this.

Oh yeah, and it's insistence that a zip file is a folder is infuriating. I have tried to apply a few tweaks which fix most of the issues. However, if I ever try to use a program to load a zip file (eg uploading a zip using Firefox) the file filter doesn't show the zip "coz itz a foldur". So, to get a list of zips, I then have to type *.zip in the file field and magically the zips appear.

Other than a few times when other settings and so on were forgotten, stability has not been too bad but I didn't have any similar problems in XP in all the years that I used it.

It also starts relatively slowly and the hard drives chug away for minutes after startup. when accessing my secondary drive (which is not set to power down or anything) sometimes it can take ages to read it the first time that I try to access it.

It does have some nice features, like very quickly being able to open up a directory at the command prompt or go to the location of a found file but I'd already set things up like that in XP too.

But... yeah, it's not as good as it should be.

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”