GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Advanced OpenGL source port fork from ZDoom, picking up where ZDoomGL left off.
[Home] [Download] [Git builds (Win)] [Git builds (Mac)] [Wiki] [Repo] [Bugs&Suggestions]

Moderator: Graf Zahl

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Graf Zahl »

The black screen had nothing to do with clip planes at all. It was just a bad mixup of 3D and 2D draw calls which with the core-only implementation no longer can be done. It lead to a fullscreen black quad ending up in the 2D queue which overwrote the entire screen.
Major Cooke
Developer
Developer
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 19:25

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Major Cooke »

Eruanna wrote:Having to use a self-compiled build, at the moment now to test this, rather than the official devbuilds, since they seem to be falling behind.
Blzut3 is responsible for the VM machine which recompiles them every 24 hours. If you notify him, he'll restart it and they'll start churning out again.

Though I did notice it apparently has a tendency to crash quite often...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Graf Zahl »

He already said elsewhere that he's away until next week. The current problem is not a crash but some compatibility issue with his Windows SDK after I removed the D3D dependencies from the CMake files which are no longer needed with the latest Win10 SDK.
User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3646
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Rachael »

GZDoom starts on my Intel HD4600 on the Compatibility profile. I am fairly sure this is not intended to happen and I think it can support Core just fine - which I thought was strange seeing as how my AMD HD4850 (much older) even starts it in Core.

This Intel supports OpenGL 4.3.

Should I tinker with it to override this? What would you suggest?
Spoiler: Startup Log Info (GZDoom g2.2pre-2168-g5a64307)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Graf Zahl »

It may just be that the driver doesn't create a core profile when requested to. If you want to know what happens, you can debug Win32GLVideo::InitHardware.
User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3646
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Rachael »

Is there a way to remotely debug from another computer?

This laptop (with the Intel I mentioned) cannot use the full VC++ environment - for one, the drive has extremely severe overheating issues, for two it doesn't have enough room anyway. In fact, to build and compile GZDoom I am using Terminal Services to my desktop.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Graf Zahl »

I never tried remote debugging. But in this case you just can add some Printf calls in the loop to print out what profile it tries to create and what the driver returns.
User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3646
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Rachael »

I've tried this:
[spoiler]

Code: Select all

				m_hRC = myWglCreateContextAttribsARB(m_hDC, 0, ctxAttribs);
				if (m_hRC != NULL)
				{
					printf ("Context %i profile %s succeeded.\n", versions[i],
						((prof==WGL_CONTEXT_CORE_PROFILE_BIT_ARB)?"Core":"Compatibility"));
					break;
				}
				else
				{
					printf ("Context %i profile %s failed.\n", versions[i],
						((prof==WGL_CONTEXT_CORE_PROFILE_BIT_ARB)?"Core":"Compatibility"));
				}
[/spoiler]

and it's not printing anything out at all.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Graf Zahl »

In that case it may not have the wglCreateContextAttribsARB function. Then it falls through to wglCreateContext which always creates a compatibility profile context.
User avatar
Rachael
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3646
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by Rachael »

I guess that would explain it, then.
ibm5155
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 13:05

Re: GZDoom on GL 3.x core profile

Post by ibm5155 »

Eruanna wrote:
ibm5155 wrote::roll: People with old machine tend to play with vanilla doom ...
Or doom legacy in case they want to use the glider engine :chaingun:
Also not correct, or there wouldn't be people here asking to keep OpenGL 2.1 support in GZDoom, or anyone on the ZDoom forum getting upset with Win9x support being dropped.
I fear this is a bit old but, what I mean is people with opengl 1.1 and 1.0 graphics card (ie voodoo 3) with Pentium 2/K6 cpus :mrgreen:
Locked

Return to “GZDoom”