DRD Team

drdteam.org forum

GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Is there something that doesn't work right in GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderators: Graf Zahl, Gez

GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby I.C.H.I. Znot » Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:59

If i make complex 3d structures with 3d floors placed one above other (e.g. pipes, or ladder) and make them under water, then only upper 3d floor looks normal, the others rendered with only flats (upper flat opaque and lower translucent). I made map with big amount of 3d floors and i cannot finish my work until this bug be present. I'm use 3d floor linedef 160 for water, not boom style. Also i have strange behavior placing player starts on 3d floors, when game starts i found myself under 3d floor. With monsters and other things this dont happens. Sorry for my bad english, i learn him from video games on ps2. And sorry i cant give you map example because i dont have internet in my home.
User avatar
I.C.H.I. Znot
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:20
Title: I hate midi music! And limits!!!

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Eruanna » Sun Jun 05, 2011 16:11

Без дэманстрацыі там сапраўды не так шмат хто-то будзе рабіць. Прабачце.
Zen Sarcasm
User avatar
Eruanna
DRD Team Admin
 
Posts: 2056
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Enjay » Sun Jun 05, 2011 19:13

Player start spots always start on the ground. If you want the player to start on a 3D floor, you have to either move the player to the 3D floor after the game starts or put the player on a sector that forms a small pillar that is the same height as the floor you want the player to start on and then lower the pillar instantly when the level starts. (See attached.)

3DStart.zip
Player start on 3D floor.
(2.25 KiB) Downloaded 86 times


As for the other problems, it's hard to say without seeing the map.
User avatar
Enjay
DRD Team Admin
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Title: There is no dark side in the moon, really...

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby jbailey8 » Sun Jun 05, 2011 19:27

Eruanna wrote:Без дэманстрацыі там сапраўды не так шмат хто-то будзе рабіць. Прабачце.



Just in case anyone was wondering (including myself), this is belarusian (I think), it more-or-less translates to:

No demonstrations there really is not much anyone will do. Sorry.
jbailey8
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:29

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Eruanna » Sun Jun 05, 2011 21:35

Yeah it was pretty much asking for a demo map, but since he said he couldn't provide one, I pretty much told him there was nothing that could be done. Enjay was right, of course, but that was not the point I tried to address - in his messy english all I could pick up was that walls were not being rendered from under a complex 3D floor structure such as water.
Zen Sarcasm
User avatar
Eruanna
DRD Team Admin
 
Posts: 2056
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 06, 2011 0:11

Wouldn't giving a z-height to the player work in this situation?
User avatar
Blue Shadow
Queue Moderator
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:09

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Rex Claussen » Mon Jun 06, 2011 3:20

Blue Shadow wrote:Wouldn't giving a z-height to the player work in this situation?

If you mean giving a z-height to a player start, it does not work. A player always starts with "feet on the ground", i.e., lowest floor.
User avatar
Rex Claussen
Hosted
 
Posts: 1669
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 18:36

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:35

Yes, that is what I meant.
Rex Claussen wrote:A player always starts with "feet on the ground", i.e., lowest floor.

Why? What is so special about the player pawns that you can't use that way?
User avatar
Blue Shadow
Queue Moderator
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:09

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Enjay » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:33

Blue Shadow wrote:Why? What is so special about the player pawns that you can't use that way?

There is a reason, but I don't recall what it is. Player starts do not even respect skill settings or game types ( deathmatch/single player/coop) If the start spot is there, it will be used even if none of the flags are set.
User avatar
Enjay
DRD Team Admin
 
Posts: 4138
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Title: There is no dark side in the moon, really...

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Eruanna » Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:22

To put it simply, player starts don't really spawn players, they are simply markers like map spots. I don't know the whole dynamics of how it all actually works, but if I had to guess, the engine may only be aware of X/Y positions of player starts and not Z (it may map them differently internally than other thing objects, possibly in different structures/arrays).

I may be wrong though - and I haven't actually looked at the code, because if it's anything like I think it is the whole process spans a number of different files and I'm not really in the mood to go digging through it. :)

To fix the problem though, simply use teleport-Z destinations and move the player to those when they enter/respawn via ACS.
Zen Sarcasm
User avatar
Eruanna
DRD Team Admin
 
Posts: 2056
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 10:30

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby I.C.H.I. Znot » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:35

Thanks for the advice about Z coord.
About 3d floors, in next time i upload demo example. But it not too hard make it in your own. Make empty room with tag 1 and fill this one with water using linedef 160 swimmable, alpha - any value bigger then 0. Then make inside this room sector with tag 2. Also link same linedef to this
new sector. Then make some 3d floors with different heights tagginng them to sector 2, but all of them must be under water surface. And voila! Only upper 3d floor looks normal. This don't happens if water alpha set to 0, but who needs invisible water?
User avatar
I.C.H.I. Znot
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:20
Title: I hate midi music! And limits!!!

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby I.C.H.I. Znot » Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:33

Here is example. I hope this help fix this bug. My videocard ATI Radeon 2600 Pro 256mb, Catalyst 8.12 (the last good for this model), if you need this. Also GZDooM sometime lockup video driver but this also happens with others OpenGL games (Quake2, DooM3, Quake4 and others).
Attachments
renderbugs.7z
In archive - map with this bug and some others which i found. Also some screens how it look on my PC.
(238.12 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
User avatar
I.C.H.I. Znot
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:20
Title: I hate midi music! And limits!!!

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jul 15, 2011 15:45

You can't have any intersecting 3D floors. Doing so will hopelessly confuse the engine.

Aside from the stack of platforms everything else is unsupported stuff.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Hosted
 
Posts: 5734
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby I.C.H.I. Znot » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:08

Damn, this mess all my work :cry: . But in DooM Legacy such elements looks normal. Is there exist way to fix this issue? I know it is possible make independent 3d swimmable floors between solid floors, but this is not too easy if 3d floors are sloped not only in X or Y direction, but X and Y. Another way: make water invisible and place above translucent sheet, but this slowdown rendering. Maybe if GZDooM be able skip render of side textures on 3d floors?
User avatar
I.C.H.I. Znot
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:20
Title: I hate midi music! And limits!!!

Re: GZDooM 3d floors under water render bug

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jul 22, 2011 18:09

As I said, the stack of platforms not showing correctly is a bug.

But your intersecting slopes will never work.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Hosted
 
Posts: 5734
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest