[r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Bugs that have been resolved.

Moderator: Graf Zahl

Deathlike2
Strife Sigil for teh win!
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 0:40

[r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Deathlike2 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 16:59

Icarus can be obtained here: http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/index.php?id=5191

The door in this map should show what there is on the other side...
ZDoom (r2147):
Image

However in GZDoom, it seems render the background image for the map.
Image

I'm not using r738 because of the rocket launcher bug (and there hasn't been a new build since then).

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 02, 2010 17:08

I can't see anything in your screenshots due to the map overlay. Also, please use another image host. Imageshack is almost unusable for me and I was unable to get the full size images.

Deathlike2
Strife Sigil for teh win!
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 0:40

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Deathlike2 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 17:24

Just click on the images links to see the enlarged versions.

For your convenience, I put them in spoiler tags:

[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]

[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]

Edit:
I redid the pics, so it would be easier to upload here as an attachment.

The first pic is the original, the second pic in the file is the same location with the map overlay.
Attachments
gzdoombugpics.zip
(348.16 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
zdoompics.zip
(394.23 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

User avatar
Enjay
There is no dark side in the moon, really...
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4625
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 23:19
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Enjay » Tue Feb 02, 2010 18:43

I'm not sure if the automap is part of the bug or not but, if it's not and you are just using it to show the position on the map, you can type IDMYPOS and the current coordinates will be displayed on screen.

Deathlike2
Strife Sigil for teh win!
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 0:40

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Deathlike2 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 18:48

The automap is used to show location, and is not part of the bug.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 02, 2010 19:34

These doors are a mess. We'll see if it can be fixed...

Deathlike2
Strife Sigil for teh win!
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 0:40

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Deathlike2 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:04

Here's another example with r741 of Strain: http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/index.php?id=8467

Hopefully this provides better insight to the issue. Maybe it has to do with the radius of a glowing object or something along those lines.

The picture is from map25 of Strain.

Edit: Removed images
Last edited by Deathlike2 on Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:47, edited 1 time in total.

Deathlike2
Strife Sigil for teh win!
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 0:40

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Deathlike2 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:13

I thought this was an issue with GZDoom, but this bug also occurs in ZDoom.

Picture was taken with ZDoom r2165.

Edit: Removed images
Last edited by Deathlike2 on Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:47, edited 1 time in total.

Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Gez » Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:30

1. Smaller pictures! If your screenshot are greater than 640*480, crop them, resize them, or use thumbnails.
2. If it's a ZDoom bug, report it at the ZDoom bug forum.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Graf Zahl » Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:32

The Strain door is just not perfectly designed. If it glitches with ZDoom it most likely glitches with Doom.exe, too.

Deathlike2
Strife Sigil for teh win!
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 0:40

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Deathlike2 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 19:48

Ah ok. I've tried looking through it via doom2 (well, a dehacked version) and that behavior happened there too. My bad. I thought they were related but obviously they were not.

Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Gez » Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:02

This still happens. Here's an APNG animation (won't work in IE, Chrome or Safari; will work in Firefox or Opera) to illustrate the issue:
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]
If the door is fully closed, the room on the other side is not drawn at all, and instead the sky is drawn behind the bars. As soon as a part of the room can be seen below the opening door, the room can be seen as expected behind the bars.

So the issue is that the renderer doesn't know that transparent doors like this can be seen through even when closed.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Graf Zahl » Mon Jul 26, 2010 18:32

These doors defeat the detection logic and I don't know what to do about it.

User avatar
Graf Zahl
GZDoom Developer
GZDoom Developer
Posts: 7148
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Graf Zahl » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:41

I'm sorry but the original problem is not fixable without breaking much more important things.

These doors would work fine if they didn't use F_SKY1 as a texture. But by using the sky I'm running into a certain problem here: Unlike the software renderer the GL renderer cannot detect that the ceiling of these sectors is out of view. And so these doors get treated like any other sector boundary between 2 sky sectors: The upper texture's area is filled with the sky.

Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: [r737] Wrong Door Background Image

Post by Gez » Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:14

What's odd is that sector 91 does work, and it's built like the others (F_SKY1 ceiling texture).

Locked

Return to “Closed Bugs”