Update DB2!!

Discuss the hosted development builds here.
[Home]

Moderator: Dev Builds Team

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Nash » Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:57

Do Gez's configurations work flawlessly with the latest version? I haven't upgraded yet because I'm afraid my configurations won't work anymore...

Xtyfe
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 21:12

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Xtyfe » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:04

No they don't :(

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Tiger » Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:51

Xtyfe wrote:No they don't :(
What exactly is wrong with the configuration sets? If it is something small and quick to patch, I am sure Gez would approve of a fix release (when asked, of course).
Nicholas Gautier

Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Gez » Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:39

Feel free to do any update you want.

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Nash » Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:35

What exactly isn't working? Can't they be loaded at all? A ton of errors? Or what?

I'm glad I didn't upgrade yet...

Xtyfe
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 21:12

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Xtyfe » Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:54

From what i can see aside from being out of date, Gez's configs seem to be written differently than the ones done by CodeImp. That seems to be why there are errors, the error messages seem to suggest that they can't find something within them.

Gez
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1399
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 16:47

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Gez » Tue Dec 13, 2011 21:18

There are conflicting files in the includes folder. You have to overwrite the standard DB2 ones with mine.

It's pretty much why I stopped maintaining them. CodeImp said he wouldn't adopt my files and I haven't felt motivated to adapt my system to the existing stuff.

User avatar
NeoHippo
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 0:47
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by NeoHippo » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:32

I have used Gez's configs since when he made them available. So, I simply copied/pasted them from r1429 to r1470. No problems. But, as he mentioned, only use the configs for what you map for, or else it takes a long time for DB2 to come up.

r1470 still has an old set of ACS files. They need to be updated with files from acc.acs-r3184.zip.

CodeImp
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 21:37

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by CodeImp » Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:00

1485 is a good version to make a build from. It contains the new floor and ceiling align modes which the user has to enable first before they will be visible. From this point on I don't think I will be adding many more features in the near future, just bugfixes.

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Tiger » Fri Dec 16, 2011 21:43

CodeImp wrote:1485 is a good version to make a build from. It contains the new floor and ceiling align modes which the user has to enable first before they will be visible.
Sounds good! I'll try to make the batch program and compile that build.
Nicholas Gautier

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Tiger » Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:27

I was originally hoping to get this done today, but it might take a bit longer than what I expected.

Image
Nicholas Gautier

User avatar
Tiger
Developer
Developer
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:44
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Tiger » Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:00

I've greatly escalated the internal debugger with a new detection system and implemented system variable recall (mainly if something really screws up in the .bat itself the system vars will still work, thus it will be easy to tell that the bat vars were never set). Thanks to the new detection system, this greatly helped me on finding the bugs that I was struggling with yesterday!

I am getting closer :)
Image


EDIT: This program can now compile DB2 \:D/!

TODO List:
  • Win5.1 Support [FallBack_Support]; currently, this only works with Win6 and Win6.1 - NEEDS TESTING WITH Win5 &&||or Win5.1!!! Done, but not ready
  • Allow the program to really check the leader var for extended compiling of other features -Done
  • Write a better shitty ToS/Don't Sue Me clause - Done
  • Remove custom vars (TGRHTMLSlave, ISEEWHATYOUDIDTHARLULZ) - Done
  • Check for SlimDX - Requires third-party to check the GAC; currently will not be implemented.
  • Copy .\build dir inito a new dir .\"Doom Builder 2 SVN" and expunge all newly made changes in .\build - Done
  • Intensive testing
EDIT 2 [19Dez.2011] Strickthrough the tasks that are done.
Last edited by Tiger on Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:19, edited 4 times in total.
Nicholas Gautier

CodeImp
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 21:37

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by CodeImp » Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:52

Wow. Don't you think you are making it more complicated than needed? Oh well, it's your spare time, do with it as you like :P

User avatar
Nash
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 1:49
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by Nash » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:27

I need the r1485 binaries so badly for the GZDoom floor/ceiling pan/rotate/scale!!! D:

CodeImp
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 21:37

Re: Update DB2!!

Post by CodeImp » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:37

1486 is better, I did some fixes. The comments on each revision can give you a good hint as to which is a good revision to build from. Usually the latest, but a comment saying "work in progress" definitely means it is useless.

Post Reply

Return to “Development Builds”